Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi all, not complete newbie here, but no expert. I have been running a Redhat server for a while now, but all command line, only doing ftp and Apache. i ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

printer/scanner issues

Hi all, not complete newbie here, but no expert. I have been running a Redhat server for a while now, but all command line, only doing ftp and Apache.

i want to kill Windoze and end my association with the evil empire...however..

Loaded RedHat 8.0 as dual boot with my Win2k, no problems there. All is great except 2 things. I have a HP Photosmart 7150, no drivers with the distro, so I got foomatic and installed it. Bingo, there is my drivers for the 7150...on /dev/usp/lp0 however, nothing prints. When I check lpq it has errord out. Can't make it work.

I have an Epson 636U scanner. After editing the config file an rem out the scsi option and point to USB it worked great...at first, now I get an error no device found.

Thanks for any and all help.

Linux Enthusiast
    errored out? What is the exact error? Seriously we get like 2-3 questions a day that are along the lines of "I tried to get this to work and it didn't, what is wrong". Where do you get the error "no device found" did you check to see if the module was loaded? What config file did you rem (comment) out the scsi line? Can you get the scanner to work again if you shutdown and restart the usb service? Is the scanner even on the USB bus? (/proc/bus/usb/* should contain some information).
    I respectfully decline the invitation to join your delusion.

Just Joined!

error

You are right, that was a pretty poor post on my part, my apologies. I am not at the machine right now, I'll get the exact error and post it regarding the printer.