Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Ok i am new to linux and i think i screwed something up already.. First i think i deleted the root account?! When i go to the user and groups ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

New to linux and i have two (basic) problems..

Ok i am new to linux and i think i screwed something up already..

First i think i deleted the root account?! When i go to the user and groups panel ut says unknown user.. i can't login as root neither..

Second.. I screwed up the panels somehow.. I liked how in the beginning it had the bottom panel with the four workspaces and the redhat button. Now i just have one bar on the top (kind of like mac os 9)

I am running Linux Redhat 9 .

Thanks for any of your help.

Linux Guru
    I'm not sure those are really symptoms that you have deleted your root account. Many login programs prevent root logins (since you're not supposed to log in as root), and the users and groups thing that RH has made usually doesn't show system accounts (those with UID<100, root has UID=0). If you run "su -" from a terminal, doesn't that work with your root password?

It sounds as if you simply want to move your panel, right? If this is GNOME that we're talking about, just right-click the panel and choose the position where you want it to be.

Just Joined!
    I also can't do anything under the system settings... everytime i try to go to something under system settings it gives me the same error... unknown user. I was able to login to root until i screwed it up... now it just doesn't accept the password. Is there a way i can recreate a root account or an account with root capabilities? I imagine i would have to do this inside the command line since i keep getting the error on the graphical interface? When I type SU into the terminal it says "su: user root does not exist"

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Linux Guru