Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
Hello, Can someone help with using GRUB for duel booting into W2k from Linux installed on another drive. I would like to boot W2k on hdb from grub installed on ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    2

    grub load w2k on 2nd drive


    Hello,
    Can someone help with using GRUB for duel booting into W2k from Linux installed on another drive. I would like to boot W2k on hdb from grub installed on linux hda.

    The way it is setup now if I choose DOS from the GRUB screen I get this: "rootnoverify (hd0,0) chainloader +1 Error 13: Invalid or unsupported executable format" which is of course is just what it says in the /boot/grub.conf file, and it will not load. Below are my grub.conf and partition tables from fdisk.

    Can someone please give me a clue what I should do to be able to also boot into W2k on the second drive from grub? Thanks very much for any insight!

    #/etc/grub.conf
    default=0
    timeout=10
    splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
    title Red Hat Linux (2.4.20-
    root (hd0,0)
    kernel /vmlinuz-2.4.20-8 ro root=LABEL=/ hdc=ide-scsi
    initrd /initrd-2.4.20-8.img
    title DOS
    rootnoverify (hd1,1) ## this is what is returned on the screen when
    chainloader +1 ## I choose to load DOS from the GRUB menue

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System # Master drive
    hda1 * 1 10 80293+ 83 Linux
    hda2 11 1057 8410027+ 83 Linux
    hda3 1058 1122 522112+ 82 Linux swap

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System # Slave drive
    hdb1 * 1 272 2056288+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
    hdb2 273 1175 6826680 f Win95 Ext'd (LBA)
    hdb5 273 1175 6826648+ 7 HPFS/NTFS

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    8
    I could be totally wrong here but I believe you have to have Windows on Primary Drive as Windows will not at all see Linux being there therefore just overwrites bootloaders. (Not sure what happens if it is already installed)

    What is your setup? I.E which OS on which drive.

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    766
    i woudl guess linux on pri. mas. and windoze on pri. slav. right?

    im not entirely sure on grub syntax, but i think the line that says

    rootnoverify(hd1,1) shoudl be either (hd0,1) or (hd1,0)

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Queens, NY
    Posts
    1,319
    I think for a Windows machine (purely Windows machine) at C:\ is required but as this is the case using GRUB, it's different.

    In W2K, does the machine see the drive (with WINNT) as D:\? If so, the GRUB syntax should be (hd1,0).
    The best things in life are free.

  6. #5
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    289
    i'm not an expert at this but from what i see, you obviously have 2 HDDs. here's what i did to my grub.conf file. asked, read around with no definite answers, but everyone tells me only grub can do this - "tricking windoze" so that it would think it were the primary master - since windoze is pretty selfish and doesn't want other OS besides other windoze variants and needs to be prim. mas.. this works fine! mabe this could help if i'm not too late...

    default=0
    timeout=10
    splashimage=(hd0,1)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz
    title Red Hat Linux (2.4.20-
    root (hd0,1)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.4.20-8 ro root=LABEL=/
    initrd /boot/initrd-2.4.20-8.img
    title Windows 98
    map (hd0) (hd1)
    map (hd1) (hd0)
    rootnoverify (hd1,0)
    chainloader +1
    makeactive
    boot
    Registered User #345074

  7. #6
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    766
    i THINK the windows must be on pri. master things was fixed in win2k/xp
    not entirely sure tho, this is MS we're dealing with.

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    2

    follow up

    The problem not being able to boot W2k from grub doesn't seem to have anything to do with which drive I try to boot, or if W2k is on the same drive as Linux. I have 2 PC's with several dirves W2k is on same drive as Linux on this machine and I get the same "error 13" when trying to boot w2K. Setup as follows:
    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    hda1 * 1 2416 19406488+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
    hda2 2417 2429 104422+ 83 Linux
    hda3 2430 2462 265072+ 82 Linux swap
    hda4 2463 4865 19302097+ f Win95 Ext'd (LBA)
    hda5 2463 4865 19302066 83 Linux
    At the grub command line I have tried all different combinations of rootnoverify, map, chainloader, and makeactive and boot with hd0, hd1, 0, and 1 to no avail.

    It believe it has something to do with the bootloader and the MBR. Linux will boot fine on all machines but W2k will not boot from grub, no matter the commands or arguments I user. Anyone know anything about the Bootloader and mbr???
    Thanks for the replys.

  9. #8
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    289
    why don't yout try to hide, unhide your 2 FAT partitions.. .
    Registered User #345074

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •