Find the answer to your Linux question:
I want to experiment/learn some Linux by installing to an old Win98 laptop with very basic 6G drive and only 64M RAM. No need to keep anything on it--long since ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

absolute noob with BASIC questions

I want to experiment/learn some Linux by installing to an old Win98 laptop with very basic 6G drive and only 64M RAM. No need to keep anything on it--long since moved on.
    My trouble is with fdisk. The C drive consumes the whole drive space and I want to reformat with partitions for Linux as per instructions elsewhere (swap, boot, usr, etc) but fdisk won't let me delete the current, single partition. "Could not change partitions, b/c the disk could not be locked"
    Am I missing something basic? Please point me to info if available. I'm stuck before starting!
    Thanx.

Which distro are you trying to install?

Just Joined!
    Suse 10 from Novell; downloaded; maybe a bit rich for the resources of this old laptop.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just boot from the installation media and SUSE should automaticially format stuff for you.

A word of warning though, you might want to have atleast ~500MB of swap space when running SUSE on such old hardware. Just set whatever partition sizes you want in Yast's partitioning section of the install.
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

Just Joined!
    I have switched boot order to boot from CD where Suse is and it looks promising at first but then Suse asks for partition to load to, which doesn't exist b/c Win98 has the whole drive as one partition for itself. So I understand this to mean I have to create the partitions first for Suse to use. Basically, I don't understand then what you mean by 'Just boot from the installation media...'