Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, I'm pretty new to linux and just got my new router-modem for my ADSL connection. The modem is an ECI modem, and I connect my computer to it using ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

connecting with ADSL (ECI modem) that needs authentication

Hi,

I'm pretty new to linux and just got my new router-modem for my ADSL connection. The modem is an ECI modem, and I connect my computer to it using my NIC.
    To access the internet running winXP (I have a dual boot configuration) I'm using the built in winXP dialer for ADSL modems.

I've tried using kppp, but that will only allow PPP connection, whereas as far as I know I require PPPOE.
    I've read about some scripts but I'm not sure it will help me much if I can't even activate the modem...

If anyone knows how to connect, I'll be happy to get some advise....

10x,
    Grupy.

Linux Guru
    You should be using the rp-pppoe package. If you're using RedHat or Mandrake (and probably others), it should have been included in the installation.

To set it up, start a terminal emulator, become root by running "su -", and then run "adsl-setup". AFAIK, that should take care of just about everything.

Just Joined!
    Thanks! but....
    I've tried using adsl-setup (I have RH9 installed), bit still could not connect...

This is what I get after running and waiting for a prompt from: /sbin/ifup ppp0

[root@Linux root]# /sbin/adsl-status /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-ppp0
    Note: You have enabled demand-connection; adsl-status may be inaccurate.
    adsl-status: Link is down (can't read pppoe PID file /var/run/pppoe-adsl.pid.pppoe)

I've checked and there's no such file in /var/run ...

So, now what? Can I create such a file?
    Grupy.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Linux Guru