Find the answer to your Linux question:

View Poll Results: Which is fastest?

Voters
2. You may not vote on this poll
  • LFS

    1 50.00%
  • Gentoo

    1 50.00%
Results 1 to 6 of 6
I've installed LFS 5.0 yesterday, of course i made the installation according the LFS 5.0 book. Now i can boot to LFS 5.0,it works. at boot time it says eth0 ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Istanbul,Turkey
    Posts
    151

    LFS 5.0 installation...


    I've installed LFS 5.0 yesterday, of course i made the installation according the LFS 5.0 book.

    Now i can boot to LFS 5.0,it works.

    at boot time it says eth0 link up etc... but it doesnt work, i cant use internet connection. How to set up network config,and make it available at boot time?

    Second how can i install Xfree and Gnome or KDE (from source?)

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Now that naturally depends on what kind of configuration your ISP uses (static, DHCP, PPPoE...).

    Installing XFree86 from source is really easy. Just grab it from CVS and compile. It really isn't harder than that.
    I haven't ever tried compiling GNOME or KDE, though, but I'd imagine they are a bit harder, since there are no single package that contains everything like there is with XFree86.

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Istanbul,Turkey
    Posts
    151
    i'm usin ADSL over ethernet (PPPoE) and
    the ip is not static DHCP.

    On slackware and redhat, i didnot set up any connection,i only configured my eth0 as DHCP and it worked.

  4. #4
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Yeah, that's kinda the thing with LFS. =)

    In any case, you'll need rp-pppoe from http://www.roaringpenguin.com/ to handle the PPPoE protocol layer. Then you'll need either pump, dhcpcd or dhclient to handle the DHCP requests. I'm not sure who made the others, but dhclient is made by the ISC.

    Considering the fact that you're using LFS, though, I guess that only you can tell how to make it automatic.

  5. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Istanbul,Turkey
    Posts
    151
    i've installed dhcpclient,but when i try to install pppoE it says:

    ppp software suite version 2.3.10 or later needed.


    Where to download ppp software suite?

    10X

  6. #6
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    I don't use PPP, so I'm not sure, but I think this is the one:
    http://www.samba.org/ppp/

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •