Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
It's been a while, and for those who think I've asked this before, I haven't. It's just very similar =) I use Belkin 54mbps wireless network. My router is plugged ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

networking linux to windows for internet

It's been a while, and for those who think I've asked this before, I haven't. It's just very similar =)

I use Belkin 54mbps wireless network. My router is plugged directly into my cable modem, and my computer has a wireless card. The card is non-compliant with linux, and Belkin doesn't release drivers for linux. linux-wlan didn't have anything (that i saw).

I thought about making a new computer and putting linux on that one, then use ethernet to network those computers togther. I don't know much about networking, as I've only done wireless networks (flame away, I kno i'm a newbie =p).

Is it possible for me to put linux on a completely different machine, and network w/ ethernet to my current computer and have it be able to use the internet? And this may be stupid, do I just take a ethernet cable and plug it into the cards on both comps, or do I need a router or hub or somthing?

Im running windows XP home, and will probaly use redhat 9.0.
    I've tried eerything possible, linux just doesn't like Belkin.

Linux User