Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi everyone. I'm still relatively new to Linux but I've been getting my hands dirty with kickstart recently. Anyway I seem to be getting some odd results now kickstart is ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Kickstarting - Some distros work, some don't!

Hi everyone. I'm still relatively new to Linux but I've been getting my hands dirty with kickstart recently.

Anyway I seem to be getting some odd results now kickstart is set up. The whole kickstart process is working but for whatever reason, some distributions install just fine and others fail at various points either during installation or during boot.

I'm doing network installs from a directory containing all files from CD's/DVD's (used cp -Ru)

Heres a list of the distros i've tried:

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Fedora 2 "Id "x" respawning too quickly" message upon booting after installation, command line seems fine but GUI doesn't display.

Fedora 3 - Installs but I'm getting some really odd graphics displayed upon boot, all sorts of random coloured lines vertically up the screen. Sometimes it will boot into the graphical front end, other times i get the colours and have to reboot manually

Fedora 4 - Works perfectly

Redhat 9 - Just as the graphical installation begins it drops back to console and gives a traceback of errors relating to kickstart.py - see bottom for more detail.

Redhat Enterprise ES 3 - This also failed but i cant remember why, will try again and post back.

Redhat Enterprise ES 4 - "Id "x" respawning too quickly" message upon booting, command line seems fine but GUI doesn't display.

Redhat Enterprise WS 4 - Works perfectly

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------