Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Newbie Alert. Sorry! Here's my problem; I have 3 physical hard disks. One of them (30gb) has Suse on it, and the other 2 are clean FAT32 drives of 70gb ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    6

    Write to FAT32 or NTFS with SuSE 9.0


    Newbie Alert. Sorry!

    Here's my problem; I have 3 physical hard disks. One of them (30gb) has Suse on it, and the other 2 are clean FAT32 drives of 70gb and 40 gb. My Suse has my music collection and other important files (around 20 gb), and I want to be able to get them onto one of my other HDs, and readable by Windows, somehow without having to resort to burning a load of cds. Is there any simple way around this?

    I've got copies of Mandrake 9.2, Slackware Live, Knoppix, Partition Magic and Windows 95,98 and XP if they may help me.

    Hope you can help

    Martin

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    It fairly easy to simply copy it directly onto the FAT drives. SuSE and similar distributions usually mount your other hard drives automagically, so check in /mnt if they aren't already there and mounted.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    6
    I've tried to mount the fat32 disks and the following error keeps popping up:

    Could not mount device.
    The reported error was:
    mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/hda5,
    or too many mounted file systems



    Could not mount device.
    The reported error was:
    mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/hda6,
    or too many mounted file systems
    (could this be the IDE device where you in fact use
    ide-scsi so that sr0 or sda or so is needed?)



  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    766
    did u specify the whole "mount -t vfat /dev/hda5 /mnt/windows" command.

    if u cant work out what fs is where, type "fdisk -l /dev/hda"

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    6
    Thanks for your reply Hellmasker!

    This is what my terminal spat at me!:

    ]65-mia-2:/home/martin # mount -t vfat /dev/hda5 /mnt/windows
    mount: mount point /mnt/windows does not exist
    65-mia-2:/home/martin # fdisk -l /dev/hda

    Disk /dev/hda: 80.0 GB, 80026361856 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 9729 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/hda1 2 9729 78140160 f Win95 Ext'd (LBA)
    /dev/hda5 2 9729 78140128+ b Win95 FAT32



    Any idea what I should do?

    Apologies for being so clueless.

    Martin

  7. #6
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    766
    mkdir /mnt/windows

    The mount point does not exist error means u have tried to mount a drive at a place(directory) that does not exist.

    then try it again.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •