Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
I'm pretty much a complete newb in the ways of linux, so i decided that i wanted to dual boot Windows XP and Fedora Core 4 (didn't have CDs for ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! Korre's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    25

    Dual Booting Windows XP and Fedora Core


    I'm pretty much a complete newb in the ways of linux, so i decided that i wanted to dual boot Windows XP and Fedora Core 4 (didn't have CDs for 5 and didn't really care to burn them at the moment) on seperate HD's.

    at first i was having trouble getting GRUB to even install to the right place, but using the information in this thread
    i was able to get the option of which OS to load upon startup.

    my problem is that now i can run linux but when i choose to start windows, the screen blinks and goes back to the list. i can't boot Windows at all. I tried to boot from a Windows CD and fix the MBR, but it didn't do anything.

    i'd really like to do this without losing everything on my Windows HD, any ideas?

  2. #2
    Just Joined! Korre's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    25
    on a side note, though linux is installed on my new hard drive, and i am in fact running linux because i can't boot windows. the new hard drive (/sdb) is not shown in the boot sequence of my BIOS -- although it is active and i can see it in my devices.

  3. #3
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    Could you post the contents of your /boot/grub/menu.lst?

    And the result of "fdisk -l" as root?
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined! Korre's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    25
    the contents of my /boot/grub/menu.lst are as follows:
    #boot=/dev/sda
    default=2
    timeout=5
    splashimage=(hd1,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
    #hiddenmenu
    title Fedora Core (2.6.11-1.1369_FC4smp)
    root (hd1,0)
    kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.11-1.1369_FC4smp ro root=/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00 rhgb quiet
    initrd /initrd-2.6.11-1.1369_FC4smp.img
    title Fedora Core-up (2.6.11-1.1369_FC4)
    root (hd1,0)
    kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.11-1.1369_FC4 ro root=/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00 rhgb quiet initrd /initrd-2.6.11-1.1369_FC4.img
    title Windows XP
    rootnoverify (hd0,1)
    chainloader +1
    and fdisk -l as root returns:

    Disk /dev/sda: 80.0 GB, 80000000000 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 9726 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 * 1 8 64228+ de Dell Utility
    /dev/sda2 9 9267 74372917+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda3 9269 9725 3670852+ db CP/M / CTOS / ...

    Disk /dev/sdb: 80.0 GB, 80026361856 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 9729 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sdb1 * 1 13 104391 83 Linux
    /dev/sdb2 14 9729 78043770 8e Linux LVM


  6. #5
    Just Joined! Korre's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    25
    ok, i was able to mount my Windows drive through linux and back up all the files that i was affraid to lose onto CD.

    i'm now perfectly fine with reinstalling either/both OS's in order to correctly dual boot Windows and Fedora. how do i go about doing it?

  7. #6
    hai
    hai is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    16
    whem you install linux
    you check in ( review and modify patitioning layout)
    you will see
    the grud boot loader will be install on /dev/sda
    you will see
    1 fedora /dev/vol/Group00/LogVol00
    2 other /dev/hda
    you press shift and click mouse in other
    change it to window
    and /dev/hda you change it in to where you install win if you install win in sda1
    you change
    windows /dev/sda1
    if you want boot win first you check in windows /dev/sda1
    that OK

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •