Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 19 of 19
Originally Posted by CopperTop If you are starting again, don't forget the wealth of info you can find with a quick search... http://www.this_site_does_not_exist/...pic.php?t=1000 No, what I want is to deactivate ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    19

    Quote Originally Posted by CopperTop
    If you are starting again, don't forget the wealth of info you can find with a quick search...

    http://www.this_site_does_not_exist/...pic.php?t=1000


    No, what I want is to deactivate the Linux partitions

    Then I could boot straight in Windows

  2. #12
    Linux Engineer kriss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,113
    Just use cfdisk, fdisk, partition magic etc to do that..

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    19
    Hi, Yeah
    I did that

    But grub still loads on bootup even when I uninstalled RH9!!


    Help me please

  4. #14
    Linux Engineer kriss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,113
    Try the fixmbr utility at the XP cd..

  5. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    19
    Yeah, it works now



    What I'm going to do is actually build a new box and attach it to my network so, I suppose it would be easier to do that.

    I'll tell you when it is fixed

    Edit: Doh! Can't run XP cd

  6. #16
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Cowpens, SC
    Posts
    96
    Then grab a win9x floppy and run "fdisk /mbr"
    (More than one way to skin a cat!)

  7. #17
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    19
    OK. I'll try that now

  8. #18
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    19
    Sorry for bump.

    I did the mbr thing

    What do I do to get XP on?
    re-install?

  9. #19
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Cowpens, SC
    Posts
    96
    Hmm. that should have done it. You can do a re-install on XP, without formating the drive, and not lose anything.

    Have you tried F8 at boot, and go in on safe mode or command prompt? I know XP has the "fix mbr" command, but can't remember where they put it

    2 Ant chance XP is running in FAT32, you could browse the drive from a 98 boot (dir fix mbr /s)

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •