Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I'm am absolutely sick of RPM so after a little research, I found that Gentoo or Debian could free me from this madness. For a server setup RPM/RedHat is fine ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Gentoo or Debian

I'm am absolutely sick of RPM so after a little research, I found that Gentoo or Debian could free me from this madness. For a server setup RPM/RedHat is fine but I want to set a stable desktop with up to date apps.

I'm a noob at linux and only know RH. I've set up a Postfix mail server in RH9, and that's about it. Nothing major.

Could someone recommend the best solution and which would be easier for me to tackle? If I go with Debian, should I use Knoppix to install it?

Is Deb a better system than Portage? I want to be able to keep my system up to date without living in dependency Hell!

TIA!

bd

Linux Engineer
    both are good at dependencies..
    debian uses prebuilt binaries and has an installer...
    gentoo builds everything from source with compile-time options that you set in /etc/make.conf.. there is no installer for gentoo, but the install process is pretty easy if you follow the instructions on their website..

Just Joined!
    Thanks for the info LN! I'll start with Gentoo tonight and see how it goes.

Thanks again.

bd

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Linux Guru
    Note that since Gentoo compiles everything from source, it can very well take 12+ hours to install it.

Linux Engineer
    I've been using Debian for sometime now and I can say that both dpkg and apt are good tools (I think there is something called aptitude that is superior to apt nowadays). Unless you are using the stable version, you will run into dependency problems sometimes. This is rare but when it happens, it's annoying to find the fix to it.