Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
I installed a set of upgrade CDs, 3 of 'em, RedHat .. Somehow I disabled Dual Boot .. grub is the loader .. the config file doesn't look "bad" at ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    3

    dual boot fails after upgrade, new cds


    I installed a set of upgrade CDs, 3 of 'em, RedHat ..
    Somehow I disabled Dual Boot ..
    grub is the loader .. the config file doesn't look "bad" at first glance
    /boot/grub.conf
    I think is the filename.

    I could re-run the 3 CDs ..

    All ideas appreciated ..

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    What do you mean that you "disabled" dual boot? What is the other system that you want to boot, and on what partition do you have it. Can you post your grub.conf file?

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    3
    To clarify:
    Dual-boot PC:
    - WinME (nearly same as Win98 SE)
    - Linux - current RedHat

    with grub loader

    I configured this for "dual boot" - a prompt page offered
    Linux
    MS-DOS
    and after a few secs booted the default

    Now, it skips that and displays the
    boot:
    prompt
    where I can't succeed entering "msdos" or dos, or anything but ENTER.

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    3
    Grub file:
    NOTE: the pc has 2 ata disks
    a: dos
    b: linux
    e.g.
    mount -t vfat /dev/hda1 /mnt/c_hdd -o user,rw,exec,uid=500

    mounts the MS-DOS (fat32) disk ..

    /etc/grub.conf
    ( linked to /boot/grub.conf )
    timestamped at upgrade 6:20 a.m. today

    Code:
    # grub.conf generated by anaconda
    #
    # Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file
    # NOTICE:  You do not have a /boot partition.  This means that
    #          all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /, eg.
    #          root (hd1,0)
    #          kernel /boot/vmlinuz-version ro root=/dev/hdb1
    #          initrd /boot/initrd-version.img
    #boot=/dev/hda
    de# grub.conf generated by anaconda
    #
    # Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file
    # NOTICE:  You do not have a /boot partition.  This means that
    #          all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /, eg.
    #          root (hd1,0)
    #          kernel /boot/vmlinuz-version ro root=/dev/hdb1
    #          initrd /boot/initrd-version.img
    #boot=/dev/hda
    default=1
    timeout=10
    splashimage=(hd1,0)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz
    title Red Hat Linux (2.4.20-28.9)
    	root (hd1,0)
    	kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.4.20-28.9 ro root=LABEL=/ hdd=ide-scsi
    	initrd /boot/initrd-2.4.20-28.9.img
    title DOS
    	rootnoverify (hd0,0)
    	chainloader +1
    fault=1
    timeout=10
    splashimage=(hd1,0)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz
    title Red Hat Linux (2.4.20-28.9)
    	root (hd1,0)
    	kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.4.20-28.9 ro root=LABEL=/ hdd=ide-scsi
    	initrd /boot/initrd-2.4.20-28.9.img
    title DOS
    	rootnoverify (hd0,0)
    	chainloader +1
    Edited by Dolda2000: Added code tags around grub.conf.

  5. #5
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Can you describe exactly what happens when you boot your computer? The way you described it as the "boot: " prompt made it sound more like LILO than GRUB. Also, try running "grub-install /dev/hda" as root and see if that fixes the problem.

    Also, does your grub.conf really look like that, or did you just accidently paste twice? I'm asking since everything's duplicated.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •