Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
Hi I am using debian and have installed apt-get, but I get error messages when upgrading. W: Counldn't stat source package list ftp://ftp.au.debian.org stable/main Packages (No such file or directory) ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    5

    installing apt-get problems


    Hi
    I am using debian and have installed apt-get, but I get error messages when upgrading.

    W: Counldn't stat source package list ftp://ftp.au.debian.org stable/main Packages (No such file or directory)
    W: You may want to run apt-get update to correct these problems

    When I run aqpt-get update apt-get, I get the same error message.

    Can someone help me with this problem.

    Tx

  2. #2
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    Quote Originally Posted by Glen Tapley
    Hi
    I am using debian and have installed apt-get, but I get error messages when upgrading.
    What? You have installed apt-get? Not quite sure what you mean.

    W: Counldn't stat source package list ftp://ftp.au.debian.org stable/main Packages (No such file or directory)
    W: You may want to run apt-get update to correct these problems
    Are you sure you are connected to internet?

    Or else are you sure about the content of /etc/apt/sources.list?
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    5
    Hi

    Tx for yr reply

    I installed apt-get on the initial installation. I have used it to install mc, but now it is not working.

    The sources.list file has the following entry

    deb ftp://ftp.au.debian.org/debian/ stable main
    deb-src ftp://ftp.au.debian.org/debian/ stable main

    I have changed this from the irish debian mirror, which was giving me the same error. Uk was too.

    I was using apt-get to upgrade bind.

    Tx again

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    Can you browse the Internet?

    Can you ping some addresses?
    Code:
    ping -c 5 www.google.com
    Post the exact chain of command you are doing (and the resulting errors).
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by antidrugue
    Can you browse the Internet?

    Can you ping some addresses?
    Code:
    ping -c 5 www.google.com
    Post the exact chain of command you are doing (and the resulting errors).

    ping -c5 www.google.com
    PING 222.l.google.com (66.102.8.104) 56 (84) bytes for data.
    64 bytes from 66.102.9.104: icmp_seq=1 ttl=245 vtime=54.3 ms This is repeated another four times

    --- www.l.google.com ping statistics ---
    5 packerts transmitted, 5 received, 0% packet loss, timne 4042ms
    rrt min/avg/mdev = 54.355/57.254/58.450/1.470 ms

  7. #6
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    Your mirror doesn't work for me either.

    Try this as your /etc/apt/sources.list, and see if it works:
    Code:
    #Local Mirror
    deb ftp://gulus.usherbrooke.ca/debian/ stable main
    #deb-src ftp://gulus.usherbrooke.ca/debian/ stable main
    
    #Security
    deb http://security.debian.org/ stable/updates main
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  8. #7
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    If it works then find a more appropriate local mirror for you:
    http://www.debian.org/mirror/list

    The package "netselect" can help you choose the fastest mirror.
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by antidrugue
    Your mirror doesn't work for me either.

    Try this as your /etc/apt/sources.list, and see if it works:
    Code:
    #Local Mirror
    deb ftp://gulus.usherbrooke.ca/debian/ stable main
    #deb-src ftp://gulus.usherbrooke.ca/debian/ stable main
    
    #Security
    deb http://security.debian.org/ stable/updates main
    Problem not resolved, same error messages.
    Glen

  10. #9
    Linux User Kojak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    421
    Is a firewall (if there) deactivated? Is ipv6 deactivated? Are some valid DNS entries in /etc/resolv.conf?
    Windows free since 2002 | computing since 1984

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by Kojak
    Is a firewall (if there) deactivated? Is ipv6 deactivated? Are some valid DNS entries in /etc/resolv.conf?
    Hi

    How can I determine if a firewall exists and if there is if it is activated?

    What is ipv6? How do I determine if it is activated?

    /ect/resolv.conf consists of the following entries

    search
    nameserver 192.168.1.254

    Tx for your help

    Glen

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •