Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Complete linux newbie here.... I want to set up a mail server to pull mail from my isp and my windows based machines to pull the mail from the linux ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Linux Mandrake 9.0 mail server

Complete linux newbie here.... I want to set up a mail server to pull mail from my isp and my windows based machines to pull the mail from the linux box. What do i need to do this? Does mandrake have the functions for that? It would be nice if it would autodeliver the mail for each account.
    Thanks so much for helping the linux challenged...

Linux Guru
    No problems. Use fetchmail to get the mail from your ISP and pop3d and imapd to set up pop3 and imap (whichever you prefer) access to your server.

Just Joined!
    Sendmail is a good mail server. Also, the default mail server for Mandrake is postfix, so you may want to install that instead. You may find it to be a little easier to setup, but either should do the job. Also, there's qmail if you want to give that a try.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!
    Oops, I forgot to mention (sorry for the double post) that you'll only need to install sendmail, postfix or qmail, if you want to also use your linux box as an outgoing mail server. I did this for a small network in a similar configuration as yours. In this way, when a windows user has to send out a large email message, say with a big attachment or something, it goes out immediately to the linux box. This saves time for the Windows user who can now go on to do something else, while the linux box queue's up the message and sends it out in the background. Also, it was nice because everything on the linux box was logged, so you could do things like find out how many messages were sent out from the network and where to, etc., etc.

Just Joined!