Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am very new to linux, I have the following questions. 1. Are the fips, disk druid and fdisk all tools for disk partition? 2. I only have experiences with ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Some Linux questions.

I am very new to linux, I have the following questions.

1. Are the fips, disk druid and fdisk all tools for disk partition?

2. I only have experiences with Windows, I can't understand the Mount Point in Linux.

3. What is Mater Boot Record, what file format for it, What are the relations between the MBR and other OSes such as Windows, Linux and Solaris etc.?

Thanks for help!

Linux Engineer
    1. yes.

2. mount points.. oi.. okay.. instead of thinking of your HDD's, floppy drive, and CD-ROM(s) as separate drives, think of them as separate pieces of one big filesystem.. in order to put the files on the disks into this big filesystem, you have to tell Linux that it exists.. this is done by mounting the disk at a certain directory.. this then makes the new media a part of the filesystem... when you umount a disk, it tells linux that the data on that media no longer needs to be a part of the filesystem.. this makes for easier organization of data and faster access time to various disks (someone correct me if i'm wrong on that).. there's probably quite a bit more to it than i know, but this is basically how i understand it (it's all second-nature to me now because i've been using linux for so long..)