Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Hi ! I am using Slackware 9.1 on a Linux ext2 partition (the partition is called LINUX). When the system boots it gives displays a message LINUX: was not cleanly ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Belgrade, S&M
    Posts
    177

    LINUX was not cleanly unmounted...


    Hi ! I am using Slackware 9.1 on a Linux ext2 partition (the partition is called LINUX). When the system boots it gives displays a message
    LINUX: was not cleanly unmounted, check forced
    And then it checks some "inodes" and changes their size. After that it reboots the system, and then it normaly boots. How should I shut down my computer ? I logout of X Windows and then issue a command like shutdown now -h. Should the file system be unmounted first ? Thank You.

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Istanbul,Turkey
    Posts
    151
    use
    Code:
    halt
    Have a nice day

  3. #3
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    "shutdown -h now" should have worked. Does it hang or something during the shutdown sequence?

    In any case, you should have used ext3 instead of ext2. It's journalling, so that you usually don't have to worry about filesystem checks (that doesn't mean that you should shut down the system uncleanly, though).

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Istanbul,Turkey
    Posts
    151
    is
    shutdown -h now
    and
    halt
    same?
    Have a nice day

  6. #5
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Yep. Both switch to runlevel 0.

  7. #6
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Belgrade, S&M
    Posts
    177
    Is is possible that "reboot -f" could have caused this ? Anyway, no more system checks - it boots just fine. I need to read more about boot time module loading and where it is kept. And runlevels too. Thanks for the response, You guys are very nice...

  8. #7
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Yes, `reboot -f' would certainly cause that.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •