Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 17 of 17
Ok following on from above..... With RedHat 7.3 & 8.0 installs I get the same error message but NOT with version 9.0, If I choose to ignore the error message ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    53

    Ok following on from above.....

    With RedHat 7.3 & 8.0 installs I get the same error message but NOT with version 9.0, If I choose to ignore the error message and continue with the install, when the machine reboots I get the following messages during the boot process

    Code:
    Red Hat Nash version 3.4.28 starting
    mounting /proc filesystem
    creating block devices
    creating root devices
    mkrootdev: label / not found
    mounting root file system
    mount: error 2 mounting ext2
    pivotroot: pivot_root (/sysroot, /sysroot/initrd) failed:2
    umount /initrd/proc failed:2
    freeing unused kernel memory: 240k freed
    kernel panic: No init found. Try passing init= option to kernel
    Then the machine hangs

    I have tried the following command

    Code:
    ls -l /proc/* | grep hda
    I get the following messages :

    lots of messages saying permission denied
    last line says :

    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root 0 8 Feb 4 11:55 hda -> ide0/hda

    Code:
    ls -l /proc/*/fd | grep had
    I get the following messages :

    ls: /proc/1/fd : permission denied
    ls: /proc/2/fd : permission denied
    ls: /proc/3/fd : permission denied
    ls: /proc/4/fd : permission denied
    ls: /proc/43/fd : permission denied
    ls: /proc/5/fd : permission denied
    ls: /proc/6/fd : permission denied
    ls: /proc/7/fd : permission denied
    ls: /proc/9/fd : permission denied
    ls: ls: /proc/98/fd/3 : No such file or directory
    ls: ls: /proc/self/fd/3 : No such file or directory
    lr-x------ 1 root 0 64 Feb 4 11:57 11 -> /tmp/hda (deleted)

    [/code]

  2. #12
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Sorry, I gave you a slightly wrong command. It shows that it might be on the right track, though, but would you please try this one instead?
    Code:
    ls -l /proc/*/fd/* 2>/dev/null | grep hda
    Also, something that I forgot the last time:
    Code:
    ps -AH

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Calgary Alberta
    Posts
    19
    I notice your MB has onbord RAID. I ran into similer problems with a RAID card ... is the drive plugged into one of the RAID slots?

  4. #14
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Belgrade, S&M
    Posts
    177
    I ran into the same problem when trying to install Fedora Core 1
    Code:
    mounting /proc filesystem
    creating block devices
    creating root devices
    mkrootdev: label / not found
    mounting root file system
    mount: error 2 mounting ext2
    umount /initrd/proc failed:2
    freeing unused kernel memory: 1200k freed
    kernel panic: No init found. Try passing init= option to kernel
    or something similar. I don't know what the prblem is.[/quote]

  5. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    53
    From above.....

    I ran the following command

    Code:
    ls -l /proc/*/fd/* 2>/dev/null | grep hda
    and got the following output.

    lr-x------ 1 root 0 64 Feb 5 10:02 /proc/12/fd/12 -> /tmp/hda (deleted)

    then I ran

    Code:
    ps -AH
    see output below.

    PID UID STAT COMMAND
    1 root s [swapper]
    2 root s [keventd]
    3 root s [ksoftirqd-cpu0]
    4 root s [kswapd]
    5 root s [bdf lush]
    6 root s [kupdated]
    7 root s [khubd]
    9 root s [mdrecoveryd]
    10 root s linuxrc
    11 root s linuxrc
    12 root s /usr/bin/python1.5 /usr/bin/anaconda -m cdrom://hdb/mnt/sou
    37 root s [loop0]
    38 root s -/bin/sh
    76 root r ps -AH

    I have also disabled the RAID using the jumper on the board, the HDD that the machine is booting from is on IDE3 which is the first non RAID slot.

    Thanks for your continued help.

  6. #16
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    That's really weird - the installer script isn't closing hda, and that's why the kernel complains that it's busy (quite naturally). I cannot attribute that to anything but a bug in RedHat's installer script, probably fixed in RH9.

    As for the "kernel panic: No init found", it seems to be due to disk labels, which isn't quite uncommon. I don't understand why they keep using disk labels when they work so poorly. It can be remedied by passing a good root option to the kernel via the boot loader. For example, if you're using the GRUB boot loader and installed RH on /dev/hda5, you could press `e' in GRUB to edit the boot commands, look up the kernel command, press `e' on it to edit it, and replace the `root=LABEL=/' part with `root=/dev/hda5'. That would probably make it work.

  7. #17
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    53
    Hi,

    As I said in my last post I have disabled the on board RAID but I still get the same warning message, but if I choose to ignore it and continue with the install, it seems to work fine now

    Not sure why but I am happy at the moment I will be running some test jobs on the machine over the weekend to make sure the install is ok and I will let you knwo how I get on.

    Thanks again for all of your help.

    Regards

    Barry

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •