Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
Hi All, I am wondering if anybody can help me. I am trying to install RedHat 7.3 onto a machine but I keep getting the following error. Code: The kernel ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    53

    RH 7.3 Install Problems


    Hi All,

    I am wondering if anybody can help me.

    I am trying to install RedHat 7.3 onto a machine but I keep getting the following error.

    Code:
    The kernel was unable to re-read the partition table on /tmp/hda (Device or resource busy). This means Linux knows nothing about any modifications you made. You should reboot your computer before doing anything with /tmp/hda
    I have de partitioned the dish with FDisk and Disk Druid but I am still having no luck. I have also tried to use LILO and Grub as boot loaders.

    Has anyone got any ideas?

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    370
    why dont you try formatting the hard disk completely and installing from scratch?
    Fixing Unix is better than working with Windows.
    http://nikhilk.homedns.org/projects/index.html

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    53
    Hi,

    I still cant get this to work, i have formatted the disk with FDisk which was on a DOS boot disk.

    I have deleted all partitions with it, then started RedHat Text installer, used FDisk to create partitions and format them, but I still get the same error.

    If I say ignore the error, it will start the install process but only install 506 packages, even if I ask for a full install.

    Am I not using FDisk correctly? Or is there another problem?

    Any Ideas?

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    53
    I have tried re-installing RH9 and had no problems, which makes me think that it is a driver problem.

    I even tried installing RH7.3 after but got the same problem.

    I partitioned the disk in the following way.

    hda
    -hda1 200MB /boot Ext2
    -hda2 2000MB Swap
    -hda3 77800MB / Ext2

    I am running the following hardware.

    Motherboard - Gigabyte 7DPXDW + Dual AMD SoA with RAID 10/100 LAN

    2 x CPU's - AMD Athlon MP 2600+ "Thoroughbred" core

    Memory - 1GB PC2100 (PC266) DDR ECC Registered

    HDD. 80GB Maxtor ATA-133 (7200rpm, 8MB Cache)

    Any thoughts?

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    70
    stay with RH9 if it worked....

  6. #6
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    I think it seems really strange with the EBUSY error. Where exactly in the installation do you get this error?

    If you don't mind me asking, though - why do you want RH7.3 instead of RH9 or FC1?

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    53
    I get the error message just before it starts to copy the install files to the HDD.

    I need to run 7.3 as we have some software that does not work properly on RH9

  8. #8
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    When that error shows up on the screen, press Ctrl+Alt+F2 (before clicking it away), and run the following command:
    Code:
    fuser -v /{dev,tmp}/hda*
    Then, can you post the output of it here?

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    53
    The fuser command was not found

  10. #10
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Oh, typical... I really thought the fuser would be in the installation image. Anyway, try these instead:
    Code:
    ls -l /proc/* | grep hda
    ls -l /proc/*/fd | grep hda
    grep hda /proc/mounts

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •