Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 4 of 4
Hello everybody.. I need help>> I installed Mandrake 10.1 in my computer and after I finish everything and reboot the system the console mode was appeared! I choose during the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    9

    Mandrake KDE interface.. help


    Hello everybody..

    I need help>>
    I installed Mandrake 10.1 in my computer and after I finish everything and reboot the system the console mode was appeared!
    I choose during the setup KDE interface, so how to get there?

    thanks

    moloza

  2. #2
    Linux User Kojak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    421
    Log in at the terminal and type
    startx
    I guess it will report some error due to badly configured graphics. If this is the case, log in as root and run
    XFdrake
    for setting up a working graphical environment.
    Windows free since 2002 | computing since 1984

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    9
    Thanks for help

    I type startx, many errors appeared:
    - problem parsing the config file

    fatal server error
    no screen found


    now,
    I tried to type xfdrake in the root prompt but it didn't run.
    so should I reinstall the system again? or there is some idea?

    THanks again

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    9
    I've solve the problem.. by reinstall and choose update..

    the problem was in choosing the resolution and the size of screen..

    thanks again

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •