Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
Well, The problem is that I can't seem to open /cdrom using xmms. Here's what my files look like: Code: [brock@parker brock]$ ls -l /dev/cdrom lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 3 ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Queens, NY
    Posts
    1,319

    well


    Well,

    The problem is that I can't seem to open /cdrom using xmms. Here's what my files look like:

    Code:
    [brock@parker brock]$ ls -l /dev/cdrom
    lrwxrwxrwx    1 root     root            3 Feb 11 16:46 /dev/cdrom -> hdc
    [brock@parker brock]$ ls -l /dev/hdc
    brw-rw----    1 root     cdrom     22,   0 Mar 14  2002 /dev/hdc
    [brock@parker brock]$ ls -l / | grep cdrom
    drwxr-xr-x    2 root     root         4096 Feb 11 16:46 cdrom
    [brock@parker brock]$ cat /etc/fstab
    # /etc/fstab: static file system information.
    #
    # <file system> <mount point>   <type>  <options>               <dump>  <pass>
    /dev/hda4       /               ext3    errors=remount-ro       0       1
    /dev/hda3       none            swap    sw                      0       0
    proc            /proc           proc    defaults                0       0
    /dev/fd0        /floppy         auto    user,noauto             0       0
    /dev/cdrom      /cdrom          iso9660 ro,user,noauto          0       0
    Using XMMS, I cannot load the cd audio files at /cdrom. Of course in redhat this would be /mnt/cdrom but it's pretty much the same idea. I can however load the audio files by either using /dev/hdc or /dev/cdrom. I'm just trying to solve what the problem here is regarding /cdrom and I can't seem to figure it out.
    The best things in life are free.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    See what "stat /cdrom" says. Also, make sure you're really in the cdrom group with "id".

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Queens, NY
    Posts
    1,319

    update

    Before I state anything here I would like to apologize for starting another topic by accident. I must have hit the new topic button instead of postreply.

    Alright, so this is what is specified when running stat on the cdrom
    Code:
    &#91;root@parker brock&#93;# stat /cdrom
      File&#58; "/cdrom"
      Size&#58; 4096            Blocks&#58; 8          IO Block&#58; 4096   Directory
    Device&#58; 304h/772d       Inode&#58; 701803      Links&#58; 2
    Access&#58; &#40;0755/drwxr-xr-x&#41;  Uid&#58; &#40;    0/    root&#41;   Gid&#58; &#40;    0/    root&#41;
    Access&#58; Wed Feb 12 16&#58;50&#58;57 2003
    Modify&#58; Tue Feb 11 16&#58;46&#58;02 2003
    Change&#58; Wed Feb 12 15&#58;31&#58;16 2003
    As for the group
    Code:
    &#91;brock@parker brock&#93;$ id
    uid=1000&#40;brock&#41; gid=1000&#40;brock&#41; groups=1000&#40;brock&#41;,24&#40;cdrom&#41;,29&#40;audio&#41;
    I know that I can use /dev/hdc and /dev/cdrom to load the audio files but I want to find out what exactly is causing this to happen. When I load the audio files this way, I also get another file that isn't playable. I assume this is the cd itself.
    The best things in life are free.

  4. #4
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    I was thinking that you should stat /cdrom when something was mounted on it. Sorry that I didn't specify that.

  5. #5
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Queens, NY
    Posts
    1,319

    mount audio cd?

    Dolda,

    This has to do with reading an audio cd so mounting would not apply here. I'm going to assume that you meant putting in an audio cd and then running stat. Here is what it looks like with the AUDIO cd inside the cdrom
    Code:
    &#91;brock@parker brock&#93;$ stat /cdrom
      File&#58; "/cdrom"
      Size&#58; 4096            Blocks&#58; 8          IO Block&#58; 4096   Directory
    Device&#58; 304h/772d       Inode&#58; 701803      Links&#58; 2
    Access&#58; &#40;0755/drwxr-xr-x&#41;  Uid&#58; &#40;    0/    root&#41;   Gid&#58; &#40;    0/    root&#41;
    Access&#58; Wed Feb 12 16&#58;50&#58;57 2003
    Modify&#58; Tue Feb 11 16&#58;46&#58;02 2003
    Change&#58; Wed Feb 12 15&#58;31&#58;16 2003
    Here is what it looks like after mounting a DATA cd
    Code:
    &#91;brock@parker brock&#93;$ mount /cdrom
    &#91;brock@parker brock&#93;$ stat /cdrom
      File&#58; "/cdrom"
      Size&#58; 4096            Blocks&#58; 8          IO Block&#58; 4096   Directory
    Device&#58; 1600h/5632d     Inode&#58; 116736      Links&#58; 11
    Access&#58; &#40;0555/dr-xr-xr-x&#41;  Uid&#58; &#40;    0/    root&#41;   Gid&#58; &#40;    0/    root&#41;
    Access&#58; Thu Jul 18 09&#58;34&#58;12 2002
    Modify&#58; Thu Jul 18 09&#58;08&#58;14 2002
    Change&#58; Thu Jul 18 09&#58;08&#58;14 2002
    The best things in life are free.

  6. #6
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Now that makes it quite different. I thought you were reading MP3:s from your CD. Then try running cdplay and see what it returns.

  7. #7
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Queens, NY
    Posts
    1,319

    cdplay..

    As I am running debian, there is no program called cdplay. However, I'm assuming that this is a command line cd probing tool. I have installed and ran cdcd which is another program in debian and it works fine.
    I'm going to state again that I am able to run the audio files through /dev/hdc and /dev/cdrom. What I need to do is figure why I cannot use /cdrom to load the audio files into XMMS.
    The best things in life are free.

  8. #8
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Lebanon, pa
    Posts
    994
    Becuse /cdrom is just a directory and doesn't contain anything. You can't mount an audio cd so you need to have it open /dev/cdrom and read it that way.

  9. #9
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Queens, NY
    Posts
    1,319

    NOT MOUNTING

    Ok,

    Did I mention that I was mounting an audio cd? We all know that an audio cd CANNOT be mounted. However, the audio cd IS able to load from /cdrom. I've done this before and I'm perplexed why it's causing me trouble now. This is the purpose why I started this thread, to figure out why I cannot do it now when I was able to do it 2 days ago.
    The best things in life are free.

  10. #10
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Are you sure that's what you did two days ago? It should be impossible.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •