Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello to you all. I have a fairly interesting challenge i'm trying to defeat. And i'm no software expert, so please bear with me while i tell my tale.... I'm ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

So here's my challenge.

Hello to you all.

I have a fairly interesting challenge i'm trying to defeat.
    And i'm no software expert, so please bear with me while i tell my tale....

I'm on a mac laptop with fink running alongside osx 10.3.9. (I won't be going the Tiger route, as the gnome gui for fink is cracking along at a rate of knots, and i'm not interested in Steve Job's widgets. Computer runs a lot better in fink than it ever did in mac.)

My old pc got a nasty mbr virus, that caned pretty well everything.
    c drive (mbr i guess) keeps loading the nasty bug and killing off any com, sys, or exe files, including the anti virus stuff i'm trying to load. (All in Dos. Windows got wiped, and will stay that way now Bill and Steve are best mates, and so in love.)

This nasty virus also killed the ability to access the cdrom, as , you guessed it, the cd sys files get nailed on bootup. (Can't get rid of the command, io, or config, files in mbr, as they're locked, and won't delete. So much for virex.7. And, it seems, every time i boot up, the virus jumps into memory and watches, cackling like a mother in law, safe in the knowledge i can't get at it because i'm not smart enough with ones and zeros.
    (I admire you people who are.)

So, the hd is now out of the pc, and 'cleansed' with all but the wet flounder as an external hd attached by usb to the mac. But i STILL can't dump the nasty little sod from the mbr, as mac's disk utility won't wipe that.

Time and again, and this hd's been scrubbed and formatted more times than a debutante on her first date, those three files just won't go away.