Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi guys, I'm new to linux and am facing the following issue (yes, I did do a search first): Toshiba Portege 3015 (266 Mhz, 64mb Ram, 4.3 GB) with external ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Dreaded HD install

Hi guys,

I'm new to linux and am facing the following issue (yes, I did do a search first):

Toshiba Portege 3015 (266 Mhz, 64mb Ram, 4.3 GB) with external PCMCIA CD , floppy drive. No boot-from-CD option...Toshiba provides a floppy to boot the Install CD.

Problem: getting Linux installed. I'm obviously looking at small distributions....considering slackware, DSL, and VL.

The question: is there any lightweight distribution that makes an install from the harddrive easy? I partitioned the HD and extracted VL (one of the ones I have tried) to the FAT32 partition...when I start the install, it stops at "kernel panic -- unable to mount root fs".

Thanks,

Bernie

PS: I know this is not enough to go on in terms of troubleshooting..I'm just asking if anybody has done a harddrive install and can recommend a "path"

Linux Newbie
    Elive,kanotix-mini,pclinuxos super gamer,xp, sidux

Just Joined!
    I have a similar laptop, but with NO CDrom. I've managed to get both Slackware and Fedora Core 5 installed without problem.

I used a desktop PC and a 2.5"<-> 3.5" IDE adaptor (should cost less than 5/$5 on ebay or a local computer shop). Installed the OS, and reinstalled the HDD back in the laptop. Took ages to boot whilst finding all the new hardware, and I needed to configure the X display settings again (it came up automatically on FC5, and IIRC on Slackware too). The PCMCIA CD-ROM should be detected once the OS has loaded, otherwise you should be able to use a USB memory stick if you need to transfer other drivers.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!