Find the answer to your Linux question:
i have a pentium d 930 computer with a nvidia 7300le graphics card, and a wireless card. i was wondering if i would need a special version of linux designed ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Best distro for dual core pen. D

i have a pentium d 930 computer with a nvidia 7300le graphics card, and a wireless card. i was wondering if i would need a special version of linux designed to take advantage of the dual core, and i would probably need one with very good hardware recgnition because this thing has two tv inputs, media card reader, and a wireless card, which might make it hard to fiind a distro that would recognize all of them. i would like to dual boot linux and media center, so should i use lilo or grub? is there anything else i need to be aware of before i just go install? i am new to linux, i have onl run a live cd before and that is it. Please give any advice you have on the above topics.

Linux Guru
    Most if not all distros support symmetric multicore processing, you may just have to install the SMP kernel rather than the default one. The latest kernel release last week (2.6.17) by default has SMP which is detected at boot. The two favourites for hardware detection are generally considered to be SUSE and Ubuntu. I personally prefer SUSE, which I think has a great config tool - YaST. Your big trouble will be getting the wireless card working, though it's not so much hard as unfamiliar to those who haven't done it before.

SUSE 10.1 is the latest release and I'm posting from it now. I can recommend it but be aware it has a bug in the package manager which is due to be patched quite soon.