Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
i installed the 2.6.3 kernel and grub as bootloader but grub doesnt load the kernel so that i have to config the kernel and boot manually. Code: dafault 0 timeout ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie robak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    136

    grub doesnt load kernel


    i installed the 2.6.3 kernel and grub as bootloader but grub doesnt load the kernel so that i have to config the kernel and boot manually.

    Code:
    dafault 0
    timeout 30
    root (hd0,4)
    kernel (hd0,0)/kernel-2.6.3 root=/dev/hde5
    did i forgot something??
    make install not love

    Registered Linux user number 369245

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Istanbul,Turkey
    Posts
    151
    change it with
    Code:
    dafault 0 
    timeout 30 
    root (hd0,0) 
    kernel (hd0,0)/kernel-2.6.3 root=/dev/hda5
    but
    Quote Originally Posted by kernel.org
    The latest stable version of the Linux kernel is: 2.6.2
    Have a nice day

  3. #3
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    Or this:
    Code:
    dafault 0 
    timeout 30 
    root (hd0,0) 
    kernel /boot/kernel-2.6.3 root=/dev/hda5
    Quote Originally Posted by mesbaba8
    but
    Quote Originally Posted by kernel.org
    The latest stable version of the Linux kernel is: 2.6.2
    Stable kernels are overrated, anyways.
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer Nerderello's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    North East England
    Posts
    1,190
    does it need an initrd?

    If so add an initrd /boot/initrdname.img line


    have fun

    Nerderello

    Use Suse 10.1 and occasionally play with Kubuntu
    Also have Windows 98SE and BeOS

  5. #5
    Linux Newbie robak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    136
    i tried all of xour tips but nothing works

    i have no hda drive, only hde
    make install not love

    Registered Linux user number 369245

  6. #6
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Istanbul,Turkey
    Posts
    151
    then
    Code:
    root (hd4,0)
    will work, i think.
    Have a nice day

  7. #7
    Linux Newbie robak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    136
    hd0 means that grub searches the kernel on the first hd, and i only have one hd installed on SATA. the only prob is that grub doesnt load the kernel automatically.
    i have to define the kernel on every boot

    Code:
    kernel (hd0)/kernel-2.6.3
    than i can boot the kernel

    so hd0 is correctly

    but I'll try this anyway
    make install not love

    Registered Linux user number 369245

  8. #8
    Linux Engineer Nerderello's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    North East England
    Posts
    1,190
    I'm unsure where your kernel lives. Do you have a separate /boot partition?

    If not, then your root and the (hd0,0) on your kernel should be the same.


    have fun

    Nerderello

    Use Suse 10.1 and occasionally play with Kubuntu
    Also have Windows 98SE and BeOS

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •