Find the answer to your Linux question:
i am a total linux newbie. so plz be patient and less technical in explaining. 1.i have 2 harddisks : 80 gb sata and 20 gb pata. i have windows ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Exclamation anothor boot problem!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

i am a total linux newbie. so plz be patient and less technical in explaining.

1.i have 2 harddisks : 80 gb sata and 20 gb pata.
    i have windows xp installed on sata . (it has four partitions of 20gb each . i dont know if its relevant or not)

2.My 20 gb harddisk has iso's of redhat 9 and rest free space.
    created partitions : hdd1 -ex3 6mb
    hdd5- vfat 6mb
    hdd2- ex3 101 mb /boot
    hdd3- 12gb /
    hdd4- 957 mb /linux -swap
    ABOVE information is noted down from the tool "kickstarter" from linux.
    my processor is AMD 64 anthlon 3000+,ram 512 mb.

3.my way to linux install :
    i ,for some stupid reasons, removed my sata hardisk before installing linux.then using boot cd which i created earlier installed LINUX on the 20gb harddisk successfully (using iso images ).my linux loads with grub boot loader.i am successfully running linux with no problems...

4.My problem
    i have now connected my sata harddisk permanently.

when i chose "dos" from intial window (when sytem starts) windows doesnt boot bcos windows is located
    in my sata harddisk.so to boot windows i have to configure my sata as boot drive everytime i want windows.
    and pata as boot drive everytime i want linux.

i read previous posts some said boot loader shud be on same drive . i tried reinstalling linux and
    when while installing it says that i shud specify the harddisk where the system shud look for booting dos when"dos" will be selected in intial window of system start ,i cudnt find my sata path . (i thought i wud specify the path of my sata c: drive and it will be solved)

help plz...