Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
i have xp pro on laptop and installed dsl on the rest of hard drive, when it asked about boot loaded i selected grub, when it was finished installing it ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    16

    problem with duel boot


    i have xp pro on laptop and installed dsl on the rest of hard drive, when it asked about boot loaded i selected grub, when it was finished installing it rebooted and grub came up but did not have xp as a choice just three chices of dsl with different screen resolutions, does anybody have any ideas

  2. #2
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    251
    ok,as root
    vi /boot/grub/menu.lst(or vi /boot/grub/grub.conf)
    and edit the file to include XP as well

    add the following:
    title XP
    rootnoverify (hd0,0)
    chainloader +1

    (this is an example,you need to do some research to know the partition of your XP)

    regards

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    16
    do i trye that in the terminal window or the bootloader screen, i am a total noob when it comes to linux as i am just learning

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    251
    do it from the terminal (command line)
    a tutorial:
    http://www.redhat.com/docs/manuals/l...onfigfile.html

    regards

  6. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    140
    I think menu.lst is right for dsl.

    If you have not used vi before it may be easier to use nano (another editor available from the terminal). Just replace vi with nano in the commands you were given. If nano is not found try pico. vi is an editor found on any linux I can think of, but it is not very intuitive.

    Just in case you are completely new to linux;
    to change to root type su in a terminal followed by your root password.
    WARNING: I may be telling you more than I know !

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    16
    would it make it easier to install dsl first, then install xp after

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    16
    another quick question, if my wireless card is in the list of suported cards but in another version number will the version number still work mime is a Linksys WPC54g version 1.2, but on the list the only version number is3.0 and 4.0

  9. #8
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    140
    Quote Originally Posted by flamesfan
    would it make it easier to install dsl first, then install xp after
    No, installing xp after can be done but is more difficult.

    Sorry, don't know the answer to the wireless question. If nobody answers to it in this thread try posting a new thread on that one.

    To see your present partitions type in a terminal
    fdisk -l (that's a lowercase L)
    On some distros you must su to root for that command.

    Grub numbers disks and partitions differently than what is shown by fdisk.
    For example hda1 would be (hd0,0), meaning first drive, first partition
    hda2 would be (hd0,1)
    Always subtract 1 when numbering in grub-speak.

    The advice nature gave you should get you up and running.
    WARNING: I may be telling you more than I know !

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    16
    thanks for all the help with the duel boot part got everything working installed xp the dsl and used lilo, and everything is working fine

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •