Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 37
THANK U!!! i know i screwd it up... what can i say~ u guys been so helpful~~~~thx ... i'll let u know if there's any progress....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #21
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    31

    THANK U!!! i know i screwd it up... what can i say~ u guys been so helpful~~~~thx ...

    i'll let u know if there's any progress.

  2. #22
    Linux Engineer rcgreen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    the hills
    Posts
    1,134
    Here's one way you can fix it. Download and burn
    a live cd http://www.frozentech.com/content/livecd.php
    Boot the live cd and run fdisk and set the windows
    partition to active (or bootable).

    For future reference, linux doesn't pay attention to whether
    partitions are active or not, so you leave the windows
    partition active in a dual boot setup, and it should be the
    only active partition.

  3. #23
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729

    Question

    hi rcgreen !!

    Quote Originally Posted by rcgreen
    Boot the live cd and run fdisk and set the windows
    partition to active (or bootable).
    please tell me how can we set windows partition active using Live CD... ? i have GParted, XUbuntu, Austrumi and slax Live cds... i couldn't find anything useful in these except UltimateBootCD. what are the option in FDISK command to activate partition?




    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  4. #24
    Linux Engineer rcgreen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    the hills
    Posts
    1,134
    OK, you go to a command line console and run fdisk.

    Code:
    root@blue:/home/rcgreen# fdisk /dev/hda
    
    The number of cylinders for this disk is set to 30401.
    There is nothing wrong with that, but this is larger than 1024,
    and could in certain setups cause problems with:
    1) software that runs at boot time (e.g., old versions of LILO)
    2) booting and partitioning software from other OSs
       (e.g., DOS FDISK, OS/2 FDISK)
    
    Command (m for help): m
    Command action
       a   toggle a bootable flag
       b   edit bsd disklabel
       c   toggle the dos compatibility flag
       d   delete a partition
       l   list known partition types
       m   print this menu
       n   add a new partition
       o   create a new empty DOS partition table
       p   print the partition table
       q   quit without saving changes
       s   create a new empty Sun disklabel
       t   change a partition's system id
       u   change display/entry units
       v   verify the partition table
       w   write table to disk and exit
       x   extra functionality (experts only)
    
    Command (m for help):
    that's fdisk /dev/hda if it's your primary master (or only) hard drive.
    The first command you want to give is m because that gives you a list
    of other commands, then a to set a partiition bootable. Your windows
    partition is probably partition number one.

  5. #25
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    hi rcgreen !!

    thanx !!
    learning new stuff everyday. J Dizzel didnt reply yet. i am very curious about fdisk functions and i am going to Create similar problem in my test machine. let c if fdisk works. thanx.





    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #26
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    31
    I'm right here... still alive... but can't burn a ultimate boot cd... i have two dvd combos but neither of them now can burn the UBCD... something's wrong. i'm working on it... so trying to burn a live cd.

    ...such is my poor machine...

    edit: everything is going against me~~~AHHHHH... i wanna kill sb...!!!!!!!!!!....well...back to normal...go back to burn the cd...

  7. #27
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729

    Smile

    whats problem in Live CD?







    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  8. #28
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    31
    nothing... i'm trying to burn one...

    there was something wrong with UBCD... don't know why i couldn't burn one. tried several times...a general error message saying can't burn a cd... but i tried to burn another cd(music), it worked fine...

    detail u later... working~~~~sweating...

    thx alot ^_^

  9. #29
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    31
    Oh~Oh~Oh~Oh~Oh~Praise The Lord!!!!

    THANK YOU casper!!! THANK YOU rcgreen!!! I appreciate your help so far...

    I burned a ubcd and used xfdisk to activate my windows partition!!! and it worked fine~~~

    GREAT~ I love you guys!!!! I love this forum!!!

  10. #30
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729

    Smile

    i am glad i could help you. well !! i tried other live CD too. its command is "sfdisk" but sometimes you have to use --force coz of mounted partitions. i vote for UBCD only. it has a lot of other tools too and its one of 'must have CD'





    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •