Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello all, my main machine (which I write from right now) is a nice and stable P4, with moderately good specs I won't get into right now. My main OS ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question Low-power secondary machine - what distro to install?

Hello all,
    my main machine (which I write from right now) is a nice and stable P4, with moderately good specs I won't get into right now. My main OS here is Ubuntu 6.06, which I am very happy with. I also have Windows on dual-boot, but soon enough I plan to get rid of that big piece of broken software and run a clean, lean, Linux machine. That said, I am a Linux newbie, and I'm always looking to learn more about Linux (though I don't really need to get all that in-depth for my day-to-day on this machine).
    Anyhow, I just got a secondary machine, much weaker in every way, which I control through a kvm switch (a thingy that lets me use the same keyboard, mouse, and monitor on two machines and switch between them using a keyboard shortcut). Its main purpose is to have a Windows machine around for whenever I need it (since I help my father with his mechanic work, and that usually means I need a Windows machine), but I have oodles of disk space that I don't need there, so I want to use the space to experiment with a different Linux distro on a computer I don't mind harming.