Find the answer to your Linux question:
Im trying to install linux on a compaq evo d5pm. I dont have time to search through 151 pages of threads so im asking for a nice person to explain ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

linux for compaq

Im trying to install linux on a compaq evo d5pm. I dont have time to search through 151 pages of threads so im asking for a nice person to explain or link to a page that can explain which distribution to use and how to install. And yes i am new to linux.

hi! welcome to the forums and to linux

you can install pretty much any linux distribution on that computer. its simply your choice.
    maybe start with the mainstream distros, like Fedora Core, SUSE or Mandriva.

it is common for new comers to try out several different distros and see which one suits their needs best.

i tried out about five or six distros myself before chosing the one i liked most.

what are you planning on using the computer for?
    All Empires rise and fall. The Microsoft Empire has already risen, only one way to go now...

Just Joined!
    i was thinking of starting a small network since i have several compaq evo's(4) and starting with a linux router.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    well, go ahead and make your pick then! install, and if you have any extra problems, we'll help

ps: the previously mentioned distros are also nomaly the most complete (bu also the heaviest). if ou wind theat they dont perform very well you could use a lighter linux version (but still fully featured) like VectorLinux. (www.vectorlinux.com)

also, how much ram and disk space do you have?
    All Empires rise and fall. The Microsoft Empire has already risen, only one way to go now...

Just Joined!