Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
This is my first time posting, so I hope I provide enough information. I have a dual boot system that is Fedora Core 5 and Windows XP sp2. Recently my ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    1

    Reloading winXP in dual boot with Fedora5


    This is my first time posting, so I hope I provide enough information. I have a dual boot system that is Fedora Core 5 and Windows XP sp2. Recently my WindowsXP partition was hit with a nasty trojan (no surprise there). I need to reload WindowsXP, but everything I read says install windows first, then linux. Is there a way to reload windowsXP and still have my grub boot loader offer me the choice of linux and windows without having to reinstall linux?

    Thanks
    Ballard

  2. #2
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Windows will definitely overwrite the MBR so you'll need to restore GRUB to get back to where you were. Not sure, but I think Fedora offers a rescue option that will restore GRUB. Maybe a Fedora user can offer more specific information.
    oz

  3. #3
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    hi Ballard !!!

    Quote Originally Posted by Ballard
    This is my first time posting, so I hope I provide enough information. I have a dual boot system that is Fedora Core 5 and Windows XP sp2. Recently my WindowsXP partition was hit with a nasty trojan (no surprise there). I need to reload WindowsXP, but everything I read says install windows first, then linux. Is there a way to reload windowsXP and still have my grub boot loader offer me the choice of linux and windows without having to reinstall linux?

    Thanks
    Ballard
    i assume that only XP is crashed and FC5 is working...
    well !! install XP again as usual...
    as ozar wrote, "Windows will definitely overwrite the MBR so you'll need to restore GRUB"
    after installing XP... check this thread for re-installing GRUB

    http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/red...-not-load.html

    <=== { casper } ===>
    \
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    1
    hey ballard,
    i dont' think thats a problem.......
    u can install windows and still keep your linux
    all u need to do is to reinstall the grub because when you install windows, windows rewrites the MBR with it's sequence loader

    so once u have installed your windows
    boot using the linux cd1(fedora core)
    type as follows:-
    boot:linux rescue
    you are asked stuff like language setting etc...just do it... very easy

    next you will be asked for what type of root environment you would prefer
    options are----skip,continue,read-only
    make note of the command in that window someting like(#chroot /mnt/sysimage)
    click on continue

    you get the shell promt
    type as follows:-

    #chroot /mnt/sysimage(command that you noted down)

    #/sbin/grub-install /dev/hda

    it works...........
    good luck!

  5. #5
    Just Joined! Sam Liu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    USA baby
    Posts
    78
    Why grub? Just edit boot.ini and add a line with your linux. doesnt that work just as well?

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    80
    Only if you've stored the grub first stage boot where the Windows booloader can get to it

    My boot.ini for XP is:
    [boot loader]
    timeout=10
    default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(4)\WINDOW S
    [operating systems]
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(4)\WINDOWS="Windo ws XP Pro" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect
    C:\ = "Windows 98SE"
    C:\grubboot.lin="Linux GRUB"

    where grubboot.lin is the grub bootloader saved using a dd command from the original position at the start of the boot partition.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •