Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hey! I'm new to the Linux Forums and am new to Linux in general. I'm using Slackware, and I really like the freedom it allows you. I've been using it ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question windows hangs at LILO

Hey! I'm new to the Linux Forums and am new to Linux in general. I'm using Slackware, and I really like the freedom it allows you. I've been using it for about a week, and have been having almost no problems with the actual Linux. But, I've been having a problem dual-booting Windows through LILO. What happens, is when I select to boot Windows, it says "Loading Windows" and just hangs there, and nothing happens. I have two hard drives. One with Linux and one with Windows. I was going to try and set Windows as bootable with cfdisk, but when I type in 'cfdisk hdb1', it says it can't read the disk. I guess it only reads partitions from the master drive, as it did before when I was trying to install linux, and it didn't detect my second hard drive, and I had to mess with the jumper settings. The first hard drive is 40gb, and has Slackware 10.2 installed on it, and is set to master. The second hard drive (the original one) is a 100 gb hard drive, and has Windows XP Home Edition (pre-installed) on there, and is set as the Slave. I don't have the Windows XP disc with me (I'm too young to get money to buy it, 13 to be exact), since it was already installed on here when I bought it, so I can't really do anything like reinstall XP. I'm running sort of low on space on the hard drive with XP too (about 4gb free.). I've formatted and reinstalled Slackware twice to be safe, and have changed the LILO settings each time. So could someone help a newbie out please? It'd be greatly appreciated, any advice. Thanks!

Wow...

Quote Originally Posted by thunder_balls