Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 43
And don't give up. Give yourself time to be a newbie and to learn. You'll really enjoy it!...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Guru fingal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Birmingham - UK
    Posts
    1,539

    And don't give up. Give yourself time to be a newbie and to learn. You'll really enjoy it!
    I am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it. - Pablo Picasso

  2. #12
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    357
    When you boot off of the first install CD one of the first things that the install does is give you the option to test the CD's to make sure that they are complete and there were no problems durring downloading or the burning process. I would recommend that you boot off of the first CD and run the test for all 3 CD's. It doesn't take too long. Maybe 15 min for all of them.

    If they (one or all) fail, you can redownload them from http://ftp.redhat.com/pub/redhat/linux/9/en/iso/i386/ . You want to get shrike-i386-disc1.iso, shrike-i386-disc2.iso, shrike-i386-disc3.iso

    Or you can get Fedora from http://download.fedora.redhat.com/pu...re/1/i386/iso/ . And you want to get yarrow-i386-disc1.iso, yarrow-i386-disc2.iso, yarrow-i386-disc3.iso . Use this page for install instructions - http://fedora.redhat.com/download/. After you get it installed this page has some good info on some basic config and it's got some installation trouble shooting that is pretty good - http://fedora.artoo.net/faq/

    Fedora might be a better option because as it was said above, RedHat is stopping all support for any of thier older versions (9 included) as of the end of April. Check out http://www.redhat.com/software/rhelorfedora/ .

  3. #13
    Linux Engineer Giro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,219
    Dont worry about support stoping you dont get any if you download from the net :P

  4. #14
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    357
    Sure you don't get to call them up for support and ask some tech a question that they are then obligated to fix if you downloaded for free from the web.

    But you certainly do get updates for security, bug fix's, and functionality updates. All of this will stop at the end of April. No more up2date for any of the older versions.

  5. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bucharest - RO
    Posts
    64
    I have fedora now...BUT...i have about the same problems....The bigest problem of all is that it occupies my all physical memory and begins with about 30M of swap ... The up2date freezes ...i have unistalled it but i can not reinstall it ....I don`t know what to say anymore

  6. #16
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    357
    What are the specs on the machine that you are installing on? Does it have enough memory?

    This is from RedHat http://www.redhat.com/docs/manuals/l...ase-notes/x86/

    Quote:
    Memory:

    - Minimum for text-mode: 64MB

    - Minimum for graphical: 128MB

    - Recommended for graphical: 192MB

  7. #17
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bucharest - RO
    Posts
    64
    This isn`t the problem!
    Anyway, if this could help:
    AMD AthlonXP 1600 Palomino
    Via KT333 - EP-8K3AE
    256 MB SDRAM
    NVIDIA Geforce 2 MX400 - 64 MB
    hard-drive 60GB IBM
    My swap space is about 600MB large, so i don`t know why linux behaves so strange with me

  8. #18
    Linux Enthusiast Opnosforatou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Vleuten, The Netherlands
    Posts
    552
    Quote Originally Posted by ducu13
    I have fedora now...BUT...i have about the same problems....The bigest problem of all is that it occupies my all physical memory and begins with about 30M of swap ... The up2date freezes ...i have unistalled it but i can not reinstall it ....I don`t know what to say anymore
    Gasp, how much memory is on your system ?
    Fedora is recommended with 192MB...
    ---[ MS09-99896 - Vulnerability in All MS Windows OS ; Using Windows Could Allow Remote Code Execution. ]---
    Hardware: Asus P4P800, 1GB, P4-3Ghz, Asus V9950, Maxtor ATA HD\'s, 3Com GBit lan, Audigy ZS Plat.

  9. #19
    Linux Engineer Giro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,219
    Quote Originally Posted by Opnosforatou
    Quote Originally Posted by ducu13
    I have fedora now...BUT...i have about the same problems....The bigest problem of all is that it occupies my all physical memory and begins with about 30M of swap ... The up2date freezes ...i have unistalled it but i can not reinstall it ....I don`t know what to say anymore
    Gasp, how much memory is on your system ?
    Fedora is recommended with 192MB...
    Please read the post right above yours he has 256Mb.

  10. #20
    Linux Enthusiast Opnosforatou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Vleuten, The Netherlands
    Posts
    552
    yeah, i saw that too late...
    *bonk*.. sorry.
    Monday morning syndrome....
    ---[ MS09-99896 - Vulnerability in All MS Windows OS ; Using Windows Could Allow Remote Code Execution. ]---
    Hardware: Asus P4P800, 1GB, P4-3Ghz, Asus V9950, Maxtor ATA HD\'s, 3Com GBit lan, Audigy ZS Plat.

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •