Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 43
Also it is not uncommon for all your RAM to be consumed IIRC the OS leaves things in memory to speed things up even if it is not being used ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #21
    Linux Engineer Giro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,219

    Also it is not uncommon for all your RAM to be consumed IIRC the OS leaves things in memory to speed things up even if it is not being used then if the RAM is needed it will flush it out.

  2. #22
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bucharest - RO
    Posts
    64
    So what shall i do?!
    Should i try to reinstall linux...Or is a hardware problem?(although i don`t think so)...

  3. #23
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    193
    If you burn these images with the wrong programme(Nero Burning ****) then you'll have alot of problems with them. Find a good solution with your burning prog. And test the cd's before installing.
    Computers Are Like Air Conditioners... They\'re both useless with Windows open!

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #24
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    357
    Well, one thing that I would say is forget up2date. The servers are slow and I had nothing but trouble using it.

    Take a look at this FAQ - http://fedora.artoo.net/faq/ - and look at the section titled "Does up2date still work?" and there will be a link to " installing software question". It talks about a program called "yum" and gives some basic config files/options. Yum is something like apt-get for Debian and will update your system and install software resolving all of the annoying dependency problems.

    The FAQ is Fedora based, but I would assume that it will work with any Red Hat ver, and the section on up2date/yum should work with any RPM based system.

    Try out yum and see if you can't get your system updated and see if it doesn't behave better before doing a reinstall.

    YMMV, but I have used Nero without any problems to burn Linux ISO's. Also Roxio works well.

  6. #25
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bucharest - RO
    Posts
    64
    Quote Originally Posted by Mystic_Slayer
    If you burn these images with the wrong programme(Nero Burning ****) then you'll have alot of problems with them. Find a good solution with your burning prog. And test the cd's before installing.
    This isn`t the problem !!! I have tested the images and they are OK!
    As for logan5 saied...i have read that FAQ before you told me about it. 10x anyway - that`s a good link indeed for beginers... like me
    Quote Originally Posted by logan5
    Try out yum and see if you can't get your system updated and see if it doesn't behave better before doing a reinstall.
    So you suggest reinstalling my linux?!
    And still, nobody answered my problem...Is it such a bad and unsoluble problem?Why my physical memory is fully occupyed by linux

  7. #26
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    357
    No I am not telling you to reinstall. Someone else above was suggesting that. I Am saying to get your system fully updated (with yum not up2date) and see how it acts before considering it.

    Another question I have (sorry if you said it in a previous post because if you did I didn't catch it) how are you determining that all of you memory is being used? What command or program are you using to see this?

    Is it “top” from a terminal. If you run that command it will show you how much memory is allocated/free (and cpu stats) and where the allocated memory (or cpu) is being used. You can then see where the memory is going and post that info. Maybe that will help in answering you question. It's kind of difficult to answer the question of “why is all my memory being used” without being there to see whats going on.

  8. #27
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bucharest - RO
    Posts
    64
    I usually use System Tools > System Monitor and shows the same thing like the top command:
    Code:
    [ 00:27:11  up 23 min,  2 users,  load average: 0.33, 0.27, 0.19
    75 processes: 72 sleeping, 1 running, 1 zombie, 1 stopped
    CPU states:  cpu    user    nice  system    irq  softirq  iowait    idle
               total    7.5%    0.0%    3.1%   0.0%     0.0%    0.0%   89.2%
    Mem:   255528k av,  248320k used,    7208k free,       0k shrd,    6056k buff
            55500k active,             164756k inactive
    Swap:  642564k av,       0k used,  642564k free                  131396k cached
                                                                                    
      PID USER     PRI  NI  SIZE  RSS SHARE STAT %CPU %MEM   TIME CPU COMMAND
     3197 me       15   0 12572  12M  8536 S     4.5  4.9   0:01   0 gnome-termina
     2956 root      15   0 88104  21M  7280 S     4.1  8.7   0:30   0 X
     3094 me        15   0  8516 8516  4612 S     0.5  3.3   0:05   0 xmms
     3172 me        15   0 26572  25M 16076 S     0.3 10.3   0:11   0 mozilla-bin
     3021 me        15   0  7156 7156  5932 S     0.1  2.8   0:03   0 metacity
     3423 me        16   0  1092 1092   888 R     0.1  0.4   0:00   0 top
        1 root      16   0   416  416   360 S     0.0  0.1   0:03   0 init
        2 root      15   0     0    0     0 SW    0.0  0.0   0:00   0 keventd
        3 root      15   0     0    0     0 SW    0.0  0.0   0:00   0 kapmd
        4 root      34  19     0    0     0 SWN   0.0  0.0   0:00   0 ksoftirqd/0
        6 root      25   0     0    0     0 SW    0.0  0.0   0:00   0 bdflush
        5 root      15   0     0    0     0 SW    0.0  0.0   0:00   0 kswapd
        7 root      15   0     0    0     0 SW    0.0  0.0   0:00   0 kupdated
        8 root      22   0     0    0     0 SW    0.0  0.0   0:00   0 mdrecoveryd
       80 root      15   0     0    0     0 SW    0.0  0.0   0:00   0 khubd

  9. #28
    Linux Engineer Giro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,219
    ducu13 are you having problems with the system due to the RAM being consumed?? If not then dont worry about it.

  10. #29
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bucharest - RO
    Posts
    64
    No!I do not have problems!But what`s happening?!As you all can see it`s almost 95% used.Now it`s better, because , as i said, i had 100% used memory and 60 mb of swap.That day i had some problems with my system - slow working...and so on...

  11. #30
    Linux Engineer Giro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,219
    Here is my mem usage from my server as you can see im using around the same as you
    Code:
    Mem:    905964k total,   233224k used,   672740k free,    53500k buffers
    Swap:   489972k total,        0k used,   489972k free,   121608k cached

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •