Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
hello... im a linux newbie (yesterday i have installed it at the first time... ) firstly.. i've divided my 40gb hdd on my laptop to 20-20.. one for windows and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    39

    How do i install SuSe 10.1 after installing XP?


    hello...
    im a linux newbie (yesterday i have installed it at the first time... )

    firstly.. i've divided my 40gb hdd on my laptop to 20-20.. one for windows and one for linux......
    i've installed windows xpsp2 on c:/ and after that im trying to install linux on d:/...
    but when im booting up the SuSe Installation DVD, i get stucked in place that's named "Suggested Partitioning"...
    the only thing that i can do there is to delete the Windows Partition....
    but i dont want to......
    i can see below that i can create custom partition setup.... but im a newbie..
    can someone explaine me how to install suse without damaging the windows installation?

    tnx a-lot and sorry for my english... (as u can see its not my native language)
    and also sorry about the "....." ...... (lol)

    MiNiZeRo

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Hi !!

    In windows.... Administrative Tools --> Computer Management ---> Disk Management...... delete 20 GB partition you created for Linux... no label, no formatting... nothing
    Start SuSe Installation, it will give you the option to install Linux in Unpartitioned/Free Space.....


    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Banned jan1024188's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, SLOVENIA
    Posts
    1,549
    hi MiNiZeRo

    for a newbie is the best that makes unpartitioned space...linux doesnt use NTFS or FAT partition but ext3....
    so delete "d" partition and you will see "unlocated" or "unpartitioned" or "free space"
    when installing linux simply install it on the pree space....linux will create swap and ext3 partitions on that pree space withowt hurting windows...

    i hope that helps

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    39
    after deleting that partition as castper said... the installtion setting offer me this:
    • Create swap partition /dev/hda5 (760.8 MB)
    • Create root Partition /dev/hda6 (7.6 GB) with reiserfs
    • Create partition /dev/hda7 (11.2 GB) for /home with reiserfs
    • Set mount point of /dev/hda1 to /windows/C


    its a good proposal?? should i accept it? and if i'll accept it could i boot both windows and SuSe?? (i dont mean together)

  6. #5
    Banned jan1024188's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, SLOVENIA
    Posts
    1,549
    Set mount point of /dev/hda1 to /windows/C
    that will mount windows in /windows/c directory
    for dual boot you need a bootloader
    you have to install a bootloder on MBR of /dev/hda....

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    39
    plz tell me what to do.....

    i can Accept Proposal, I can Base Partition Setup on This Proposal, And i Can Create Custom Partition Setup...
    what to choose now?
    can somebody guide me through the MSN or ICQ.. it will be faster...

  8. #7
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Create swap partition /dev/hda5 (760.8 MB)
    Create root Partition /dev/hda6 (7.6 GB) with reiserfs
    Create partition /dev/hda7 (11.2 GB) for /home with reiserfs
    Set mount point of /dev/hda1 to /windows/C
    this proposal is correct... go ahead... dual boot is default in all linux distros...
    just make sure that in 'Boot Loader' section... it should be 'install boot loader in the MBR of /dev/hda

    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    39
    MBR stands for Master Boot Record?

  10. #9
    Banned jan1024188's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, SLOVENIA
    Posts
    1,549
    yes install bootloader on your MBR(Master Boot Record) of /dev/hda

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    39
    thanks alot...
    if something will go wrong ill post......

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •