Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Wasn't sure where to post this. Won't go into all the gory details, but I installed Knoppix 3.3 on my 60gig h/d last night. Having done something similar in the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

GRUB - Can't load Knoppix

Wasn't sure where to post this. Won't go into all the gory details, but I installed Knoppix 3.3 on my 60gig h/d last night. Having done something similar in the past, I decided to create a separate boot partition. I assumed that the default boot manager would be Lilo. (Good old Lilo! Has trouble reading past the first 1024 on the boot sector...) Nope, it's GRUB, which I've never used before. So, yeah... I read the manual and I have just downloaded a stack of info. from the Net. Not sure I understand what to do though. I find the manual confusing.

Knoppix installed ok, and when I boot from my h/d I get a grub>
    Which is good! (I think ) I sat in front of my box for an hour trying to boot into Knoppix. I thought I would just need to type 'Knoppix' or 'Boot' or 'Friggin' start up', but I can't. Is this because my kernel is on a separate partition? Any ideas to help me accelerate into Knoppix Nirvana?
    I am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it. - Pablo Picasso

I'll let you know what happens this evening when I try to boot... :o
    I am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it. - Pablo Picasso

read the GRUB posting in the tutorial section and see if that can get you past the grub> command line

have fun

Nerderello

Use Suse 10.1 and occasionally play with Kubuntu
    Also have Windows 98SE and BeOS

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Thanks! That's just what I wanted... I'll let you know how things turn out.