Find the answer to your Linux question:
I've been using PCs since the early 1990s but I'm only now just getting ready to build my first Linux box. My plan is to setup the box to dual-boot ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Fear my Newness

I've been using PCs since the early 1990s but I'm only now just getting ready to build my first Linux box. My plan is to setup the box to dual-boot Windows XP and Ubuntu. My main intention is to use the box as a security box that I can run various security tools like nmap, netcat, Cain and Abel, etc on. I would also like to setup Samba and some of the other cross platform file/print services to get my brain wrapped around how Linux might fit into an enterprise production environment.

From everything that I've read so far it seems like I need to install Windows XP FIRST. Once I have XP installed I am going to need to create some extra partitions for Ubuntu and everything else. I envision it being something like this...

Partition1: NTFS - Windows XP
    Partition2: FAT32 - Ubuntu
    Partition3: FAT32 - Ubuntu Swap
    Partition4: FAT32 - Shared data partition

Should I just configure all of the partitions during the Windows XP setup, or do I need to use another partition manager?

Will Ubuntu recognize Windows XP and configure LILO to handle it, or am I going to need to do some manual configuration of the boot loader to get everything working?

Thanks in advance for any insights you can offer!

Just install Windows XP and then install Ubuntu with the graphical installer, do NOT create any partitions for Ubuntu yet, the Ubuntu installer will do this for you.

Ubuntu can't live in FAT32 since it doesn't support unix-type permissions and other things.

Linux doesn't longer use LILO for booting, now most distros use GRUB, the Ubuntu installer should also help you creating an option to boot either Windows or Ubuntu.