Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 4 of 8 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 72
I think I just messed up my grub.conf file that I found on hdb1...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #31
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    29

    I think I just messed up my grub.conf file that I found on hdb1

  2. #32
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    29
    Why do I have a boot.conf file on the hdb drive?

    how can I access the boot file on hda?

  3. #33
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    29
    my boot.conf seems fine now, it's just on the wrong drive!

  4. #34
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Did you guys get this figured out yet?
    I am having the exact same difficulties with a different thread.
    http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/red...edora-6-a.html
    maybe a bug? or we're all missing something?
    I'm stumped.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  5. #35
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Hi !!

    this is really weird.
    post the contents of fdisk -l and /boot/grub/grub.conf file...



    .... casper ....
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #36
    Linux Engineer rcgreen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    the hills
    Posts
    1,134
    /dev/hdb1 does not have any corresponding Bios drive
    I'm returning to this issue because I think it is the clue to
    unlocking the mystery. Even though The linux kernel can
    see the drive, and you can install the OS on it, GRUB is not
    able to detect it. GRUB itself is installed on /dev/hda
    and it looks for a kernel to boot from /dev/hdb1.

    The problem is that, when the bootloader looks for that
    kernel to boot, there is no OS running yet, and it depends
    on BIOS disk access software embedded in the motherboard.
    Go into the BIOS and see if both hard drives are being detected
    and properly identified.

    You can use a disk that is not detected, or is disabled in the BIOS,
    but only for data. Once the OS is running, it will detect and use all
    drives, but the drive that contains the kernel must be detected
    by the BIOS.

  7. #37
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    The problem is that, when the bootloader looks for that
    kernel to boot, there is no OS running yet, and it depends
    on BIOS disk access software embedded in the motherboard.
    Go into the BIOS and see if both hard drives are being detected
    and properly identified.
    yes ! this might be the possibility. BIOS..... till now i found only two cases, where GRUB didnt work. couldn't found 'corresponding BIOS drive'....

    one more thing to add.... in both of these cases, first drive having Windows, have more than one primary partition. i dont know if its related to disk initialization or BIOS problem. have to find out. i am looking in to this problem and i hope i'll get solution soon....



    .... casper ....
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  8. #38
    Just Joined! jordower's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    64
    why not have the linux drive as the primary and to boot into windows, map the windows drive (hdb) to hda
    this is a working grub configuration for windows on the first partition of the second drive

    Code:
    title Windows XP
        rootnoverify (hd1,0)
        map (hd0) (hd1)
        map (hd1) (hd0)
        chainloader +1

  9. #39
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Quote Originally Posted by jordower
    why not have the linux drive as the primary and to boot into windows, map the windows drive (hdb) to hda
    this is a working grub configuration for windows on the first partition of the second drive
    here problem is "/dev/hdb1 does not have any corresponding Bios drive". even after mapping drives, i think problem will remain same.
    this is not a GRUB problem, something wrong in disk access software embedded in the motherboard.



    .... casper ....
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  10. #40
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    29
    I'm deleting two of my primary partitions, didn't need them anyway and if it might make a difference.

    And I'm getting shots of my fdisk and grub.conf file.

    My BIOS page shows primary drive 0 & 1 as "Hard Drive"


    Why can't I edit the Boot.ini file in XP to add Linux? It seems to go straight to this when giving me boot options...

Page 4 of 8 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •