Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 72
I already have XP on one drive and I'm trying to install Fedora 5 on the other. It's my third attempt. I follow all the instructions about installing Grub on ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    29

    Linux and XP in bed together - almost!


    I already have XP on one drive and I'm trying to install Fedora 5 on the other.

    It's my third attempt.

    I follow all the instructions about installing Grub on the XP drive but it doesn't happen, and when I reboot I can't choose Linux.

    My question, one of them, is how can Linux install a bootloader on the XP drive when that XP drive is already setup?

    So now I have disconnected my XP drive and am installing Fedora again. After I will re-connect the XP drive, keep Linux on the main drive and try to add a line in the bootloader to find XP when system boots.

    Thing is, I'm not sure how to do this.


    Any help greatly appreciated

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    HI !!

    you are installing FC5 third time... hmmm..... you want dual boot.... why did you unplug Windows disk... ?????

    FC5 already installed.... now re-install boot loader for windows HardDisk...

    plug-in both disks... Window's HardDisk should be Primary Master.....
    boot up through FC5 CD/DVD..... type "linux rescue" at boot: prompt
    after a while you will get prompt again ... now type.....

    chroot /mnt/sysimage
    grub-install /dev/hda

    press Ctrl + D two times...... machine will reboot and you will get GRUB with XP and FC5 boot up options.........



    .... casper ....
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    29
    Thanks for your reply.

    I unplugged the windows disk just so I could boot to Linux. The plan was to install Linux on the primary drive, then add a line to the xp drive in the grub loader thing, re-plugging the xp drive.

    I'm trying your method.

    I left the Linux install as it was and re-connected the drives as you said.

    I followed your instructions, but when I got to type

    grub-install /dev/hda

    I got the reply:

    /dev/hdb1 does not have any corresponding BIOS drive.

    And now I'm lost again

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    29
    When I ls the dev directory, a whole load of things come up, including hda, but on navigating to it, it states it is not a directory.

    I really despair. How can it be so hard for two systems to co-exist? Surely this is something that Fedora developers should see as really quite important if they are interested in getting more people to have a positive Linux experience???????

  5. #5
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    well !! its very easy to have dual boot........
    best way is make windows harddisk primary master...... Linux harddisk as secondry Master or slave or anything...... there is only one thing important... window's HardDisk should be primary master.

    now ... boot up with FC5 CD/DVD again..... and execute chroot and grub-install command......
    if you still get error... post the output of

    fdisk -l .....( its small L and you must be root)

    both disks should be plugged-in........




    .... casper ....
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    29
    okay, done that, same result as before. I took a pic:



    Thanks for all your help so far.

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    29

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    29
    can anyone help me here?

  9. #9
    Linux Engineer rcgreen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    the hills
    Posts
    1,134
    /dev/hdb1 does not have any corresponding BIOS drive.
    If the BIOS can't see the drive, you can't boot from it. There
    may be a workaround, but the bootloader has to find
    the kernel at boot time. It uses BIOS calls to access the
    drive. Once the kernel is booted, it can see all drives.

    In this case it may be necessary to put the kernel, or
    a /boot partition, on the primary master drive.

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    29
    I'm just feelin utterly hopeless with all of this. It's just like, crap.

    Now I've given up dual-booting, cos it's just too much crap to deal with, i prefer to disable the primary (windows) drive in BIOS so the only drive left is the Linux drive. Thought this would be a good workaround.

    But when the Linux drive boots up, it worked before, but now all I get is a black screen and "GRUB" and a flashing cursor, which doesn't do anything.

    It's just stoopid.

    Ready, Fedora core 5, not 1, 5!!!!!!! And it's still this difficult to deal with.

    Poor show

Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •