Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Hello fellow Linux Peoples - and Welcome to my first post! OK - I'm basically an OS X guy but I've been facinated with Linux for a long time. I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Partition map for dual boot - Ubuntu/OpenSuSE

Hello fellow Linux Peoples - and Welcome to my first post!

OK - I'm basically an OS X guy but I've been facinated with Linux for a long time. I just started taking these online UNIX/Linux classes at UCONN so I'm pretty new to the whole deal but actively learning. Here's what I want to do:

I have this 5 year old PC laptop and I want to be able to boot it with either OpenSuSE or Ubuntu. Acutally I'd like to be able to put more distros on too. It's got a 40GB hard drive so I was thinking it would be cool to have a coulple of different linuxes on there so I could try them out. Windows will not be involved. So how do I partition the hard drive for this? There must be stuff on the web instructing how to do this, but I can't find anything useful. Thank you!

Hi !

check this thread.... for any further query, you can post here.........

.... casper ....
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Just Joined!

I'm greener than your lawn

But I'm starting to get the idea. Before I was attempting to completely partition the hard drive first. As noted I will instead do Gparted. (I'm burning the .iso now.)

Additionally I will create separate /boot and /home partitions for each distro but all will share the same swap partition.