Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
I am attempting to install Unbuntu on an FC5 system. Unbuntu installation failed on a 20Gb partition saying that /var was not big enough. Below is my current partition layout. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Ridgefield Park, NJ
    Posts
    60

    Dual boot Unbuntu on FC5


    I am attempting to install Unbuntu on an FC5 system. Unbuntu installation failed on a 20Gb partition saying that /var was not big enough. Below is my current partition layout. I would like to be able to keep and/or share the current information in my /home/xxx dir. Any suggestions would be appreciated, I am still a relative newbie at this.



    Thanks,

    Disk /dev/sda: 160.0 GB,

    Device Boot label
    /dev/sda1 101MB /boot
    /dev/sda2 20GB /
    /dev/sda3 20GB /usr
    /dev/sda4 111GB Extended
    /dev/sda5 20GB /home
    /dev/sda6 20GB /usr/local
    /dev/sda7 512MB swap
    /dev/sda8 512MB swap
    /dev/sda9 512MB swap
    /dev/sda10 20GB /opt
    /dev/sda11 20GB /media/sda11
    /dev/sda12 * 28GB /media/sda12

    Partition table entries are not in disk order

    Disk /dev/sdb: 160.0 GB,

    Device Boot Label
    /dev/sdb1 * 50GB HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sdb2 10GB FAT32
    /dev/sdb3 20GB linux
    /dev/sdb4 73GB Extended
    /dev/sdb5 20GB /var
    /dev/sdb6 20GB Linux
    /dev/sdb7 512MB swap
    /dev/sdb8 512MB swap
    /dev/sdb9 512MB swap
    /dev/sdb10 20GB Linux
    /dev/sdb11 10GB /tmp

    I'm not exactly sure what's in sda11 or sda12

    The original plan was to dual boot Fedora and XP, but I am considering using VMware workstation to run XP.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    why are you creating separate partitions ? i prefer only Home on separate partition.

    EDIT: three SWAP partitions ???




    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Ridgefield Park, NJ
    Posts
    60
    If I combine some of the partitions is there an easy way of moving the directories or to I have to reinstall fc5?

  4. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    okkk... i thought you are replacing FC5 with Ubuntu. well ! i must say, your partition structure is very bad. you have two harddisks... where you wanna install Ubuntu ?

    post the output of

    fdisk -l (.. its small 'L' )




    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Ridgefield Park, NJ
    Posts
    60
    Doesn't matter since I have space on both drives. the layout that I posted was taken from fdisk excluding system and start/end blocks the partition sizes are rounded to MB/GB. I was attempting to install Unbuntu to sdb3 when the install failed. Sys ram is 1.5g so I doubled it as recommended and allocated it to the 2 drives

  6. #6
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    you already have 1.5 GB RAM... more than enough. you dont even need SWAP partition. i have only 512MB RAM and i created 750 MB SWAP space. system never used more that 30% of SWAP space till now.

    best way to install.... delete partition you created for Ubuntu. leave it as unpartitioned/free space.... no formatting... during installation, select "unpartitioned/free space" and let installer create and format partitions.... you can delete SWAP partition coz you have a lot of RAM. Ubuntu will recognize FC5 partitions and mount those for you. you can share data in FC5 home partition.




    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Ridgefield Park, NJ
    Posts
    60
    does each distro need its own / dir, during install ubuntu named all partitions as /media/sda1...12 and /media/sdb1...12 including /boot, /, /home and will not install without /. Is it possible to move dir's from one partition to another.

    When i attempted to load ubuntu before and specified /sdb3 as /, the install failed and I was unable to reboot into FC5, had to use Knoppix - QTparted to erase ubuntu to restart fedora

    still getting the hang of this.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    why are you creating partitions yourself ? let installer do it. / (root) is the main partition of Linux.
    check this link




    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Ridgefield Park, NJ
    Posts
    60
    Since the disks are already partitioned the installer is not finding any of the empty partitions. since I do not have an lvm my choices are limited during install, format a drive, use the lvm or guided partitioning?

  10. #10
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    i prefer guided partitioning coz its tough to resize LVM later on.

    you have dual boot. you can use windows 'Disk Management Tool' to delete one of the existing partition ( Last paritition would be better ). dont format. just delete it. installer will recognize it as free space. Ubuntu's default is ext3.



    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •