Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I am attempting to install Unbuntu on an FC5 system. Unbuntu installation failed on a 20Gb partition saying that /var was not big enough. Below is my current partition layout. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Dual boot Unbuntu on FC5

I am attempting to install Unbuntu on an FC5 system. Unbuntu installation failed on a 20Gb partition saying that /var was not big enough. Below is my current partition layout. I would like to be able to keep and/or share the current information in my /home/xxx dir. Any suggestions would be appreciated, I am still a relative newbie at this.

Thanks,

Disk /dev/sda: 160.0 GB,

Device Boot label
    /dev/sda1 101MB /boot
    /dev/sda2 20GB /
    /dev/sda3 20GB /usr
    /dev/sda4 111GB Extended
    /dev/sda5 20GB /home
    /dev/sda6 20GB /usr/local
    /dev/sda7 512MB swap
    /dev/sda8 512MB swap
    /dev/sda9 512MB swap
    /dev/sda10 20GB /opt
    /dev/sda11 20GB /media/sda11
    /dev/sda12 * 28GB /media/sda12

Partition table entries are not in disk order

Disk /dev/sdb: 160.0 GB,

Device Boot Label
    /dev/sdb1 * 50GB HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sdb2 10GB FAT32
    /dev/sdb3 20GB linux
    /dev/sdb4 73GB Extended
    /dev/sdb5 20GB /var
    /dev/sdb6 20GB Linux
    /dev/sdb7 512MB swap
    /dev/sdb8 512MB swap
    /dev/sdb9 512MB swap
    /dev/sdb10 20GB Linux
    /dev/sdb11 10GB /tmp

I'm not exactly sure what's in sda11 or sda12

The original plan was to dual boot Fedora and XP, but I am considering using VMware workstation to run XP.

why are you creating separate partitions ? i prefer only Home on separate partition.

EDIT: three SWAP partitions ???

casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Just Joined!
    If I combine some of the partitions is there an easy way of moving the directories or to I have to reinstall fc5?