Find the answer to your Linux question:
I apologize if this has been answered already, but i am a complete beginner to linux and i'm really frickin confused. I am trying to install RedHat 9.1 on a ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Partition ****up

I apologize if this has been answered already, but i am a complete beginner to linux and i'm really frickin confused. I am trying to install RedHat 9.1 on a dell xp machine with about a 50GB hard drive. I downloaded the isos for discs 1-3 from linuxiso.org, all verified. I used partition magic to resize the NTFS partition to about 30GB and made new swap and linux ext2 partitions with the remaining space. The partitions were ordered: NTFS, SWAP, ext2. I told partition magic that i would install linux immediately after creating the new partitions. Everything went well until i ran redhat setup. It couldn't read the hard drive, and i can't boot windows normally now either. I used knoppix live to get the system up, and am using it now. All partitions are readable and i don't notice anything missing. However, on hda2, the linux partition, there is 5GB used and an empty folder called lost and found. Is this a windows folder? I read something about linux having to start in the first 1024 cylinders of memory, which i doubt it is right now, but i would like to be able to at least boot windows. Let me know what i did wrong and how to fix it and get the dual boot running.

when you run the Redhat install, you'll get to a stage where it starts talking about partitions. Don't take the automatic option but select the customise option. You'll then be presented with a graphical representation of your hard disk. From here you can, distructively, amend the sizes of you partions. So leave your NTFS one alone and and adjust your swap and etx2 ones, if you wish. Tell the installer which partion is going to be swap and which is going to be ext2 and your root (/) partition.