Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28
Hi friends, I had Windows XP when I bought my PC. A bit later I installed Linux, but when partitioning with the standard Linux way (when first installing it, a ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! hajime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    77

    From Linux, adding a Windows partition.


    Hi friends,
    I had Windows XP when I bought my PC. A bit later I installed Linux, but
    when partitioning with the standard Linux way (when first installing it, a
    menu for selecting partitions appear) the partition I had for Windows deleted itself.
    Actually I hate Windows, but need it for some little things which Wine can't open.
    I read requests about this from other users of this forums, but didn't
    understand what to do very well.
    Can someone explain to me briefly how to create a Windows partition, from
    Linux (this is the only partition and OS installed now).
    I heard about a good program for this, called GPartition, right?

    Thanks so much, mates.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru smolloy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    CA, but from N.Ireland
    Posts
    2,414
    I think QTparted is what you want to use. It's a very good partitioning tool, very similar to Norton Partition Magic. You should use this to create a new, unformatted partion on which to install windows.

    Once you've finished installing windows, it will have overwritten your bootloader with its own, which, of course, will not recognise that you have another OS installed, so you'll have to reinstall grub or lilo (or whatever your favourite bootloader is) and configure it to give you a choice between windows or linux.
    Registered Linux user #388328 || Registered LFS user #15880
    AMD 64 X2 4600+ :: 2X1GB DDR2 800 :: GeForce 9400 GT 512MB :: ASUS M2N32 Deluxe :: 4X250GB SATAII
    Need instant help? Try us on IRC -- #linuxforums on freenode

  3. #3
    Just Joined! hajime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    77
    Hi man, thanks for the quick answer.
    The way of installing Lilo is booting the PC with Linux, and then...what
    should I do more less?
    (I mean which options should I select)
    I don't dare to do it until I have a bit more clear what to do.
    Thanks again.

  4. #4
    Linux Guru smolloy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    CA, but from N.Ireland
    Posts
    2,414
    Good question. It's been a long time since I did this myself.

    I think it depends on which distribution you are using. Some allow you to boot the installation CD, and use this just to reinstall the bootloader. There may be some other way to do it that I'm not aware of.

    You can be sure that you will not be able to boot into Linux normally after you reinstall windows -- you will only be able to boot from your installation CD until you reinstall the bootloader.
    Registered Linux user #388328 || Registered LFS user #15880
    AMD 64 X2 4600+ :: 2X1GB DDR2 800 :: GeForce 9400 GT 512MB :: ASUS M2N32 Deluxe :: 4X250GB SATAII
    Need instant help? Try us on IRC -- #linuxforums on freenode

  5. #5
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    hi !

    as far as i know, distribution 'Momonga' is like 'RedHat/Fedora'. after installing windows, boot up through Linux (Momonga) installation cd and type 'linux rescue'. execute 'lilo' to install LILO again.




    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #6
    Just Joined! hajime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    77
    Hi friends, I really appreciate ur help.
    And also you, Devil casper, I really thank you are always very fast
    to help me. Yeah, Momonga has some common things with
    Red Hat and Fedora, but also has special things, which
    make newbies like me have really hard times...it is really a "freaky"
    kind of Linux.

    Anyway, now on the main thing, OK, I will try what you told me, but,
    if someone has something important to say about this process of
    dual booting, please say it.
    I will wait a few days before doing it, just in case.

    See you, mates.

  7. #7
    Linux User ImNeat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    N. America
    Posts
    392
    I highly highly recommend the GParted LiveCD for creating/deleting/resizing partitions. Also - a forewarning - Windows acts a fool if it's not on the first partition of a hard drive.
    10" Sony Vaio SRX99P 850MHz P3-M 256MB RAM 20GB HD : ArchLinux
    14" Dell Inspiron 1420N 2GHz Core2Duo 2GB RAM 160GB HD : Xubuntu

  8. #8
    Just Joined! hajime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    77
    Hi mates, I really appreciate ur help.

    ImNeat:Windows acting in a foolish way? Oh, that's impossible!!
    Anyway, would you mind in telling me what is -usually- the name of
    the first partition? (I think I remember some names of partition when
    installing Linux, weren't they named "/dev" or something?

    Thanks, mate.

  9. #9
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Anyway, would you mind in telling me what is -usually- the name of
    the first partition? (I think I remember some names of partition when
    installing Linux, weren't they named "/dev" or something?
    you are right ... partitions are listed under /dev. in case of pata disk, first partition is hda1 and in SATA disk, its sda1.



    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  10. #10
    Just Joined! hajime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    77
    Hello,
    Very good help, all of ya, mates!
    Very soon I will do it and if I had some strange issue, I will talk
    about it so other users could learn from this.
    See ya.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •