Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
With reference to techieMoe's post . Do I need to do something prior to starting the installtion or the processor will be capable to run 32-bit Linux just like that? ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Enthusiast apoorv_khurasia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    624

    32 bit Linux on 64 bit AMD


    With reference to techieMoe's post. Do I need to do something prior to starting the installtion or the processor will be capable to run 32-bit Linux just like that?
    Thanks in advance.
    "There is no sixth rule"
    --Rob Pike
    Registered Linux User: 400426 home page

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    nothing to do... just go ahead. a very few distros, like SuSe 9.3 displays a Message before installation "You are installing 32Bit kernel on 64BIT processor". its just a message..... Latest version, SuSe 10.1, doesn't pop up that message now.
    i have AMD 64BIT 2800+... no probs at all.




    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Linux Enthusiast apoorv_khurasia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    624
    Quote Originally Posted by devils_casper
    nothing to do... just go ahead. a very few distros, like SuSe 9.3 displays a Message before installation "You are installing 32Bit kernel on 64BIT processor". its just a message..... Latest version, SuSe 10.1, doesn't pop up that message now.
    i have AMD 64BIT 2800+... no probs at all.




    casper
    Thanks a lot for the quick reply. I will do as mentioned tonight.
    "There is no sixth rule"
    --Rob Pike
    Registered Linux User: 400426 home page

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Enthusiast apoorv_khurasia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    624
    Ok so I faced some problems but not quite sure that they were due to 64 bit processor or not. I tried Mandrake 10.1, SUSE 9.3, 10.1 and FC5 and they gave me the error that no hard-drive, CD drive found. These CDs are clean (MD5 sum-wise) and also I have used them successfuly on 32 bit processors.

    But here is the twist. FC3 installed smoothly.


    Whats the problem?

    Processor:- AMD Athlon 2800+ (64-bit)
    "There is no sixth rule"
    --Rob Pike
    Registered Linux User: 400426 home page

  6. #5
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Whats the problem?
    problem is in BIOS version. i have ASUS motherboard and AMD 64bit 2800+ processor. SuSe 9.3, RH and Debian didn't recognize hardware. same error 'no hard-drive, CD drive found'. i flashed latest version of BIOS. its working now.




    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  7. #6
    Linux Enthusiast apoorv_khurasia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    624
    What does "flashing the latest version of BIOS" mean? How do I do that?
    "There is no sixth rule"
    --Rob Pike
    Registered Linux User: 400426 home page

  8. #7
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    we use term 'flash' for installing new version of BIOS.
    its lot easier in Windows machine coz ASUS motherboard CD is windows based. it has BIOS updater software. install that software. it will check and fetch latest version of BIOS and will ask for flash/installation.
    in case, Windows is not installed in your machine, check ASUS site for latest BIOS version. be careful. check Motherboard's type and download correct BIOS file (.rom). wrong version/type can harm motherboard. ASUS CD is bootable. boot from it and install .rom file through updater exe.





    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  9. #8
    Linux Enthusiast apoorv_khurasia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    624
    Thanks a lot....I will try that out and let u know how it went.
    "There is no sixth rule"
    --Rob Pike
    Registered Linux User: 400426 home page

  10. #9
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Thanks a lot....I will try that out and let u know how it went.
    okkk ! i am writing again.... in case you are going to install manually, be very careful coz its an irreversible process and wrong BIOS file will damage motherboard permanently.




    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  11. #10
    Linux Enthusiast apoorv_khurasia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    624

    Success at last

    Thanks a lot for all the directions. I successfully updated the bios and SUSE 10.1 is up and running on my other PC.
    "There is no sixth rule"
    --Rob Pike
    Registered Linux User: 400426 home page

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •