Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am a complete noob at this stuff and I need some help. I got as far as running the OS but it keeps freezen. I read something somewhere about ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Swap File Recommendation

I am a complete noob at this stuff and I need some help. I got as far as running the OS but it keeps freezen. I read something somewhere about swap file and your memory on your computer. So how big should I make my swap file?

AMD Athlon XP 2000
    512 DDR
    10GB Drive

Hyas,

I'm running Fedora Core 1 and I have 1GB of memory.
    I had a swapfile of 512MB but the system keept freezing up.
    After I created a swapfile slightly larger then 1.1GB it ran perfectly.
    So I would recommend a 512MB swap to 1GB swap.
    ---[ MS09-99896 - Vulnerability in All MS Windows OS ; Using Windows Could Allow Remote Code Execution. ]---
    Hardware: Asus P4P800, 1GB, P4-3Ghz, Asus V9950, Maxtor ATA HD\'s, 3Com GBit lan, Audigy ZS Plat.

Sounds like a good idea. I will give it a try.

Would making it bigger than 1GB be bad?

there is a recommendations that you make your swap partition twice the size of the amount of ram you have so if you have 512 put your swap at 1 gig. and if 256 then 512. so i recommend trying that
    BIG K aka Kyle
    Programming Forums
    www.kylekonline.com
    Please don\'t PM me for help-- ask in the forums instead!

It worked. hehe Now to have some fun.

Linux Newbie
    For fun: www.planetquake.com get the latest patch for q3 and then install that, and then go to your quake3 cd and copy over the pak files into the baseq3 directory and then you should vs me in q3 LINUXSTYLEs
    /skythra

flw
    Linux Engineer
    Rules of thumb for size are only generic guidlines. It really depends on what the machine is doing and how the apps your using were coded to used memory via the kernel.