Find the answer to your Linux question:
Well, I'm very new at Linux so this shouldn't surprise many of you. I'll start from the top 1) I downloaded a partition creator from Limewire earlier today to get ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Mandrake 9.1 Installed...Problems commence

Well, I'm very new at Linux so this shouldn't surprise many of you.
    I'll start from the top
    1) I downloaded a partition creator from Limewire earlier today to get a full version that wouldn't bug out on me and would let me create another partition.
    2) Ok, I made the partition great
    3) Restart computer, oh look it's in recovery mood..
    4) I go in and change my boot priorities to CD (because my Mandrake is on there)
    5) install mandrake. but ****..in the process I lose windows..(not a big deal, i didn't like it much anyways)..so I advance and put the bootloader on diskette
    6) restart
    7) change boot priority to diskette
    Mandrake starts to load up
    9) now it comes up with a prompt with a localhost..i type nick and my password
    i'm stuck..so i try a bunch of things..info, help, etc.
    i say login..I put in my admin name and crap..."you do not have the authoritiziation" or something comes up.
    Now what do I do?
    I'm on my old crap comp now, it only has a floppy (incase somebody can find me a decent LOAF I thought I'd say that)

What should I do?
    UGH.

Linux Newbie
    Tried logging in as root?
    /skythra

Just Joined!

damn...

how do i do that?
    all i have is some wierd [nick nick]$ kinda looking thing (the name i put in is mine
    I then type login
    it comes up with login: i type xxxx
    password: xxxx

"authentication service cannot retrieve authentication info" comes up

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Linux Newbie