Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21
If you running windows, It will die......I have 4 sun Blade servers running at least 3 Os,s on each and have never had a prob with installing it in /boot........Windows ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    23

    If you running windows, It will die......I have 4 sun Blade servers running at least 3 Os,s on each and have never had a prob with installing it in /boot........Windows is very greedy with MBR! well I guess its a personal preference

  2. #12
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Quote Originally Posted by Juliusn
    If you running windows, It will die......I have 4 sun Blade servers running at least 3 Os,s on each and have never had a prob with installing it in /boot........Windows is very greedy with MBR!
    i have two Windows OS ( Windows XP, Windows NT ) and three Linux Distros ( Kubuntu, SuSe 10.1 and FC5 ) in a single machine. i am using GRUB as boot loader and its installed in MBR.

    Quote Originally Posted by Juliusn
    well I guess its a personal preference
    i agree ! i feel comfortable with GRUB in MBR only.




    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    23
    FC5..........I really wanna know, is it really buggy....would you reccomend FC5?????I want to give it a try...

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #14
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    23
    how does it compare to suse 10.1??

  6. #15
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    well ! FC5 and now FC6... both are good, supported by Red Hat. there are a few bugs. a few default settings are not correct. doesn't support FAT32 out of box. you have to mount FAT32 yourself. GRUB doesn't recognize other installed distros by default.
    its worth to try though.

    SuSe...... its great. support and configure most of hardware parts out of box.
    i am using Kubuntu these days. its light weight distro ( only one installation CD ) and didn't give a single problem till now.




    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  7. #16
    Linux Engineer Thrillhouse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Arlington, VA, USA
    Posts
    1,377
    Quote Originally Posted by devils_casper
    well ! FC5 and now FC6... GRUB doesn't recognize other installed distros by default.
    Really? I had my FC5 machine dual-booted with Windows and when I went to install FC6 on another partition (instead of just upgrading my FC5), GRUB successfully recognized my FC5 partition and added it to the boot menu along with "Other" (which I thought was funny).

  8. #17
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    FC6 recognizes FC5 and Windows. it does not recognize other installed Linux Distros.




    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  9. #18
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    23
    hmmmm. Thanks will start playing with it and see what its like...........Going to do a Vmware job on suse to get FC6 running.......

  10. #19
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Good Luck !





    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  11. #20
    Linux Engineer Thrillhouse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Arlington, VA, USA
    Posts
    1,377
    Quote Originally Posted by devils_casper
    FC6 recognizes FC5 and Windows. it does not recognize other installed Linux Distros.
    That's interesting. I'm gonna try that out on my Ubuntu test machine and see what happens.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •