Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Anyone hazard a guess as to the installation times for a Gentoo Stage 1 install? PC1 = Celeron 1.3, 256Mb RAM, 40Gb HD PC2 = Pentium 200, 32Mb RAM, 4Gb ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Farnborough, UK
    Posts
    1,305

    Gentoo installation - how long?


    Anyone hazard a guess as to the installation times for a Gentoo Stage 1 install?

    PC1 = Celeron 1.3, 256Mb RAM, 40Gb HD

    PC2 = Pentium 200, 32Mb RAM, 4Gb HD

    Will be looking to install minimum + fluxbox + apache/php/mysql + browser + gimp + email. Anything else I'll add later.
    Lansbury's Lido

    thekiadriver on #linuxforums - fleetingly

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    1,296
    More than forty hours I would say..

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Farnborough, UK
    Posts
    1,305
    Quote Originally Posted by variant
    More than forty hours I would say..
    For both?

    Gearing meself up for an install within the next couple of weeks.
    Lansbury's Lido

    thekiadriver on #linuxforums - fleetingly

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer big_k105's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Fargo, ND
    Posts
    901
    prolly close to 40 or more hours each i would think. well maybe not for both but about 40 for the P200 and prolly a good amount less for the Celeron 1.3 but im not sure cause i have never done a stage 1 install so dont take my word for it
    BIG K aka Kyle
    Programming Forums
    www.kylekonline.com
    Please don\'t PM me for help-- ask in the forums instead!

  5. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Pontypridd, Wales
    Posts
    104
    Expect to take 2 days for the celeron, or even more if you haven't done one before.

    The other computer will take a very long time... actualy, can you do a stage 1 with so little RAM? Check the docs first.
    \"One World, One Web, One Program.\" -- Advertisement for Internet Explorer.
    \"Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Fuehrer.\" -- Adolf Hitler.

  6. #6
    Linux Newbie zdawg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    218
    I think you may get away with 32M ram without a gui, and conservative cflags. It will definitely swap out alot. I did it with 64M, P2 266, took about a week, and I have 56K connection.
    Me & Myself just ganged up on I....... Now We all have problems..and none of Us are speaking!
    bash-3.00$ uname -a
    SunOS sparky 5.11 OpenSolaris-swa sun4u sparc SUNW,Ultra-Enterprise

  7. #7
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    1,296
    Do a stage3 install (not with genkernel) which will take a couple of hours and once the system is up and running you can update it in the background while you use the system.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •