Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
My computer is stuck on the looking for available packages page when installing, and has been there for a while. How long is it supposed to take looking for available ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    6

    Mandrake Linux Installing Error


    My computer is stuck on the looking for available packages page when installing, and has been there for a while. How long is it supposed to take looking for available packages?

    When it finally finished it said:

    An error occured
    fatal: no hdlist nor synthesis to read for
    Installation CD 3 (x86) (cdrom3).

    What is wrong?

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Pontypridd, Wales
    Posts
    104
    The third disk may be corrupt.

    did you md5sum the iso (if you downloaded it). If all is well with the md5sum try burning the disc again.

    The hdlist is the list of pakages stored on the disk, and is used by urpmi for installing packages - if it can't find such a file it will error.

    hope this helps...
    \"One World, One Web, One Program.\" -- Advertisement for Internet Explorer.
    \"Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Fuehrer.\" -- Adolf Hitler.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by nomar
    The third disk may be corrupt.

    did you md5sum the iso (if you downloaded it). If all is well with the md5sum try burning the disc again.

    The hdlist is the list of pakages stored on the disk, and is used by urpmi for installing packages - if it can't find such a file it will error.

    hope this helps...
    When am I supposed to put the 3rd disk in? Because it never said anything about putting it in.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Pontypridd, Wales
    Posts
    104
    ...I see now!

    The installer is trying to gather a list of the complete set of packages which are available for all CD's - this list is on the fist disk I guess.

    From this list it will determine which disk to use for which package.

    It's possible that the first disk is corrupt.
    \"One World, One Web, One Program.\" -- Advertisement for Internet Explorer.
    \"Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Fuehrer.\" -- Adolf Hitler.

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by nomar
    ...I see now!

    The installer is trying to gather a list of the complete set of packages which are available for all CD's - this list is on the first disk I guess.

    From this list it will determine which disk to use for which package.

    It's possible that the first disk is corrupt.
    Should I try reburning the cd?

    and, is their a way to check and see if it burnt correctly?

  7. #6
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Pontypridd, Wales
    Posts
    104
    First check the md5sum for the downloaded iso, then re-burn the disk.
    \"One World, One Web, One Program.\" -- Advertisement for Internet Explorer.
    \"Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Fuehrer.\" -- Adolf Hitler.

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by nomar
    First check the md5sum for the downloaded iso, then re-burn the disk.
    k, I checked all of the isos, and they are all fine. I will try reburning disk 1

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •