Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
When I use qtparted to create my partitions (eg 12000MB) and then use Partition Magic 8 to check the partitions I get error 110 that the partition length is wrong ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    732
    732 is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Estonia
    Posts
    7

    Partition sizes


    When I use qtparted to create my partitions (eg 12000MB) and then use Partition Magic 8 to check the partitions I get error 110 that the partition length is wrong and it resizes it to 12004.4MB.

    Could anybody clarify this?

  2. #2
    732
    732 is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Estonia
    Posts
    7
    does anybody have an idea?

  3. #3
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Parted uses MB as a partition Unit while Partition Magic uses Cylinders (512 bytes). Parted created exact 12000MB partition but its not in accordance with Partition Magic's Unit.




    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  4. #4
    732
    732 is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Estonia
    Posts
    7
    Thank you for the reply. Is there a way to create cylinder sized partitions with Parted?

  5. #5
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    No ! Parted doesn't care about cylinders and it hasn't any option for changing Partition Unit. moreover it doesn't allow Unit's fractions. it isn't possible to create 12004.4 MB partition using 'parted'. it allows either 12004 or 12005 MB.





    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #6
    Linux User twoHats's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    NH, USA
    Posts
    280

    fdisk?

    Don't forget good old fdisk - IMHO a much more capable tool for partitions ... just be really careful!
    - Clouds don't crash - Bertrand Meyer

    registered Linux user 393557

    finally - hw to brag about - but next year it will look pitifully quaint:
    Athlon64 X2 3800 - 1G PC3200 - 250G SATA - ati radeon x300
    circa 2006

  7. #7
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Quote Originally Posted by twoHats
    Don't forget good old fdisk - IMHO a much more capable tool for partitions ... just be really careful!
    fdisk is one of THE GOOD OLD partitioner but its not capable of resizing existing partitions.




    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  8. #8
    Linux User twoHats's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    NH, USA
    Posts
    280

    resize ...

    Yeah - fdisk will give the info you need to do so but wont do the job for you. I recently resized an ntfs partition with a tool called ntfsresize and it worked like a charm - don't know if there is an ext3resize(?) or extresize or ??? This was on a debian based distro.


    at any rate i had a good fdisk session 1st, getting the beg - end of each partition. Also defragged the ntfs part first ...don't know if any of this is relavant but it's free.

    Peace
    - Clouds don't crash - Bertrand Meyer

    registered Linux user 393557

    finally - hw to brag about - but next year it will look pitifully quaint:
    Athlon64 X2 3800 - 1G PC3200 - 250G SATA - ati radeon x300
    circa 2006

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •